Indian architect Balkrishna Doshi wins 2018 Pritzker Prize

With this, Doshi became the first Indian to win the Pritzker Prize, the premier global award for architecture.

Mar 8, 2018 15:44 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Indian architect Balkrishna Doshi was on March 7, 2018 awarded with 2018 Pritzker Prize for being able to interpret architecture and transform it into buildings that respect Eastern culture.

Doshi was recognised for his exceptional work, his commitment and dedication to his country and its communities and for his influence as a professor.

With this, Doshi became the first Indian to win the Pritzker Prize, the premier global award for architecture.

Balkrishna Doshi's Work

• One of India's foremost living architects and urban planners, Balkrishna Doshi is known for designing extensive low-cost housing projects and public institutions.

• He has always created an architecture that is serious, never flashy or a follower of trends.

• He has created projects for public administrations and utilities, educational and cultural institutions, and residences for private clients, among others.

• His works are an extension of his life, his philosophy and his dreams.

• Doshi helped shape UNESCO-backed International Charter on the Education of Architects, which forged an international alliance of industry practitioners.


About Balkrishna Doshi

• An alumnus of the JJ School of Architecture in Mumbai, Doshi worked with Charles-Edouard Jeanneret, known as Le Corbusier, in Paris in the 1950 before returning to India to supervise the architect's projects.

• He is a fellow of the Royal Institute of British Architects and the Indian Institute of Architects.

• He has honorary doctorates from the University of Pennsylvania and McGill University in Montreal.

• He has founded various organisations- School of Architecture, Ahmedabad; School of Planning; Centre for Environmental Planning and Technology (whose building he also designed); Visual Arts Centre, Ahmedabad and Kanoria Centre for Arts, Ahmedabad.

About Pritzker Prize

• The Pritzker Prize is regarded as equivalent to the Nobel Prize in the field of architecture.

• The award includes USD 100000 prize money and is sponsored by Hyatt Foundation.

• Previous winners include world-renowned architects like Zaha Hadid, Frank Gehry, IM Pei and Shigeru Ban.

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए