1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Indian-American author Akhil Sharma won The Folio Prize 2015 for novel Family Life

Mar 25, 2015 16:25 IST

Akhil SharmaIndian-American author Akhil Sharma on 23 March 2015 won The Folio Prize 2015 for his novel Family Life.

He was presented with the winner trophy by Jean-Marc Rathe of The Folio Society and a cheque of 40000 pound at the awards ceremony held in London.

He was selected for the award by the five-member judging panel for The Folio Prize 2015 chaired by William Fiennes.

His novel Family Life was one among the eight books shortlisted from 80 works of fiction and was chosen as the best fiction published in the UK in 2014 by the 235 writers and critics who constitute the Folio Academy.

Some of the shortlisted candidates for The Folio Prize 2015 were:
•    Ben Lerner for 10:04
•    Miriam Toews for All My Puny Sorrows
•    Jenny Offill for Dept of Speculation
•    Adhiambo Owuor for Dust
•    Colm Toibin for Nora Webster
•    Rachel Cusk for Outline

About the book Family Life

Family Life is an autobiographical story of an immigrant family floundering in America. The book tells the story of Ajay Mishra who moves from Delhi to the United States as a child in the late 1970s. When Ajay's brother has a life-changing accident, it shatters his family's new life.

About The Folio Prize

The Folio Prize was instituted in 2014. The prize recognises the best English-language fiction from around the world, published in the United Kingdom (UK) during a given year, regardless of form, genre or the author’s country of origin.

It is the first major English-language book prize open to writers from all over the world.

In 2014, American short story writer George Saunders became the first winner of The Folio Prize. He won for his collection of short stories Tenth of December.

About Akhil Sharma

Akhil Sharma was born in Delhi and immigrated with his family to the USA in 1979. His stories have been published in the New Yorker and in Atlantic Monthly, and have been included in The Best American Short Stories and O. Henry Prize Collections.

His first novel, An Obedient Father, won the 2001 Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award. He was named one of Granta’s Best of Young American Novelists in 2007.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes23 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK