Infosys Science Foundation Announced Winners of the Infosys Prize 2013

The Infosys Science Foundation on 12 November 2013 announced the winners of the Infosys Prize 2013 across six categories.

Created On: Nov 13, 2013 11:50 ISTModified On: Nov 13, 2013 15:16 IST

The Infosys Science Foundation on 12 November 2013 announced the winners of the Infosys Prize 2013 across six categories: Engineering & Computer Science, Humanities, Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social Sciences.

The winners were recognized for their outstanding achievements and contributions to scientific research. The Infosys Science Foundation also announced an increase in the prize purse by 5 Lakhs to 55 Lakhs rupees for each category for 2013. The prize for the Humanities category will be split equally between the two winners.

The seven winners were chosen based on significant progress showcased in their chosen spheres, as well as for the impact their research will have on the specific field. In addition to the prize purse, each category award includes a gold medallion and a citation certificate.





The distinguished winners of the 5th Infosys Prize 2013 are:

1.Engineering and Computer Science

Prof. Ramgopal Rao, Institute Chair Professor – Department of Electrical Engineering and Chief Investigator, Centre of Excellence in Nanoelectronics, Indian Institute of Technology, Mumbai


• Archaeology

Prof. Nayanjot Lahiri, Professor – Department of History, University of Delhi, New Delhi


Prof. Ayesha Kidwai, Professor – Centre for Linguistics, School of Language, Literature and Culture Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi

3.Life Sciences

Dr. Rajesh Gokhale, Director, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research – Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology, New Delhi

4.Mathematical Sciences

Prof. Rahul Pandharipande, Professor – Department of Mathematics, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule, Zürich (ETH Zurich)

5.Physical Sciences

Prof. Shiraz Naval Minwalla, Professor – Department of Theoretical Physics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai and Member, School of Natural Sciences, Institute for Advanced Studies, New Jersey, USA

6.Social Sciences

Prof. Aninhalli R. Vasavi, Senior Fellow, Nehru Memorial Museum and Library, New Delhi

About the Infosys Science Foundation

The Infosys Prize is awarded under the aegis of the Infosys Science Foundation, a not-for-profit trust set up in February 2009 by the management of the Infosys company. The Infosys Science Foundation is funded by a corpus which today stands at over 100 Crore Rupees contributed by the trustees and Infosys.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

6 + 8 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all