1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Malala Yousafzai Won European Union's Sakharov Human Rights Prize 2013

Oct 10, 2013 15:52 IST

Malala YousafzaiMalala Yousafzai, the Pakistani teen shot by the Taliban for championing girls' education won the European Union's (EU) Sakharov human rights prize 2013 on 10 October 2013.

In 2012 the award went to detained Iranians, lawyer Nasrin Sotoudeh and film maker Jafar Panahi, to honour those standing up for a better Iran.

Past winners of the Sakharov Prize include South African anti apartheid hero Nelson Mandela and former UN secretary general Kofi Annan.

About The Sakharov Prize
• The Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought is awarded each year by the European Parliament.
• The prize was set up in 1988 to honour individuals or organisations for their efforts on behalf of human rights and fundamental freedoms.
• The Sakharov Prize for free speech is awarded annually in memory of Soviet physicist and dissident Andrei Sakharov.

Malala Yousafzai, Edward Snowden Nominated for EU's Sakharov Prize

Is this article important for exams ? Yes60 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Malala Yousafzai , Malala , Sakharov Prize

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK