PM Modi Chairs NITI Aayog Governing Council Meeting - Check Key Highlights Here

NITI Aayog Governing Council Meeting - Key Highlights: Prime Minister Narendra Modi chaired the 7th Governing Council meeting of NITI Aayog on 7th August 2022. At the meeting, PM Modi hailed the spirit of cooperative federalism that helped the country recover from COVID-19 pandemic. Check Highlights Here.

PM Modi Chairs NITI Aayog Governing Council Meeting
PM Modi Chairs NITI Aayog Governing Council Meeting

NITI Aayog Governing Council Meeting - Key Highlights: The 7th Governing Council Meeting of NITI Aayog was chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 7th August 2022 - Sunday. This was the first meeting of NITI Aayog council since July 2019, which was being held on-ground and in-person at Rashtrapati Bhawan Cultural Centre in New Delhi.The meeting was attended by 23 Chief Ministers, 3 Lieutenant Governors and 2 Administrators and Union Ministers.

At the meeting, PM Modi hailed the collaborative efforts put in by state and the central government to tide over the COVID-19 pandemic. PM Modi said that the spirit of cooperative federalism was the force that helped India emerge from the COVID-19 pandemic. He also congratulated and thanked each state government for playing an active and crucial role in ensuring delivery of public services to the grassroots level during the pandemic. He said several state governments rose above party lines to display the true spirit of co-operative federalism and helped India emerge as a world leader during the time of crisis.

PM Modi’s 3Ts Formula

At the 7th Governing Council meeting of NITI Aayog, Prime Minister Narendra Modi proposed a unique 3Ts formula to reduce imports and promote consumption of local products. The 3Ts formula proposed b PM Modi cover Trade, Tourism, Technology and is aimed at increasing consumption of locally produced goods while also reducing imports. He also requested state governments to “encourage people to use local goods wherever possible.”

Key Agenda of the Meeting

At the start of the meeting, Union Defence Minister Shri Rajnath Singh, who was moderating the meeting, set four key point agenda for the NITI Aayog Governing Council Meeting. These are:

  • Crop diversification and achieving self-sufficiency in pulses, oilseeds and other agri-commodities
  • Implementation of National Education Policy (NEP) in school education;
  • Implementation of National Education Policy in higher education; and
  • Urban governance.

Talking about the agenda, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said that the prime focus of central and state governments should be on modernization of agriculture, animal husbandry, and food processing. This will mark the first step in the process of becoming self-sufficient in agriculture sector and also help India become a global leader. On Urbanization, PM Modi noted that the rapid expansion of the urban infrastructure can help transform urbanization into a strength. He further added that use of technology will aid “ease of living, transparent service delivery and improvement in the quality of life.”

NITI Aayog Member Ramesh Chandduring the press meet also mentioned that PM Modi emphasized on the need to for self-sufficiency in the area of edible oil. Currently, India imports around Rs 1 Lakh Crore worth of edible oil to meet half of its domestic demand. To reduce overall imports, India should focus on achieveing self-sufficiency in pulses, oilseeds & other agri-communities.

G20 Presidency a Unique Opportunity

PM Modi also touched upon G20 Presidency which has been bestowed upon India as a unique opportunity. He further added that centre and state governments have to make India's G20 presidency into a mass movement and identify best talent available in the country for the same. He also said there should be a dedicated team for G20 in the States to derive the maximum possible benefit from the initiative. India will be chair of G20 for 2023, which is a group of developed and developing nations.

On the topic of G20 Presidency, External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar also noted that the event will be held truly nationally with India hosting the “G20 meetings over the year, not only in Delhi but in every State and Union Territory."

Who are members of NITI Aayog’s Governing Council?

  • The members of NITI Aayog’s Governing Council include:
  • Prime Minister of India
  • Chief Ministers of all States and Union Territories with legislature
  • Ex-Officio Members
  • Lt Governors of Union Territories
  • Vice Chairman of NITI Aayog
  • Full-Time Members of NITI Aayog and
  • Special Invitees.

Also Read: Parameswaran Iyer appointed new NITI Aayog CEO, to succeed Amitabh Kant

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Read the latest Current Affairs updates and download the Monthly Current Affairs PDF for UPSC, SSC, Banking and all Govt & State level Competitive exams here.
Jagran Play
खेलें हर किस्म के रोमांच से भरपूर गेम्स सिर्फ़ जागरण प्ले पर
Jagran PlayJagran PlayJagran PlayJagran Play