Sint Martin General Election 2014

Sep 2, 2014 18:13 IST

The General election of Sint Marteen was held on 29 August 2014. The United People's Party won the election with seven of the 15 seats in the Estates.

They were the first elections since Sint Maarten became a constituent country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands in 2010.

Five parties contested the elections. The Democratic Party Sint Maarten (DP), the National Alliance (NA), the Sint Maarten People Party (OSPP), the United People's Party (UP) and the United Sint Maarten Party (US).

Procedure of Election

Sint Marteen elects a legislature called the Estates of Sint Maarten. It consists of 15 members, elected for a four year term by proportional representation.

The first estates were elected in 2010 as the island council of the island area Sint Maarten as the elections took place before the dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles.


Sint Marteen is an island in the northeast Caribbean. It is located east of Puerto Rico.

The island is divided roughly between France and the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The two parts are roughly equal in population.

It is the smallest sea island divided between two nations with inhabitants. The division was done in 1648. This is the only land border shared by these two countries anywhere on Earth.

Quick Digest

Who: General election

Where: Sint Marteen

What: was held

When: 29 August 2014

Is this article important for exams ? Yes34 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: General election , Sint Marteen , held

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK