1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Three South Asian women selected for International Women of Courage Award

Mar 4, 2015 17:17 IST

Three South Asian women, namely Niloofar Rahmani, Nadia Sharmeen and Tabassum Adnan on 3 March 2015 were selected for the prestigious International Women of Courage Award for the year 2015 given by the US Secretary of State.

They were among the 10 extraordinary women selected from 10 countries for the award for demonstrating exceptional courage and leadership in advocating for peace, justice, human rights and gender equality.

•Niloofar Rahmani (Afghanistan): She is a Captain from Afghan Air Force
•Nadia Sharmeen (Bangladesh): She is a Journalist and women's rights activist
•Tabassum Adnan (Pakistan): She is the founder of Khwendo Jirga

Besides these three women, other women who have been selected for the award for the year 2015 are:

•Rosa Julieta Montaño Salvatierra (Bolivia): She is Founder and Director of Oficina Jurídica para la Mujer
•May Sabe Phyu (Burma): She is the Director of Gender Equality Network
•Béatrice Epaye (Central African Republic): She is the President of Fondation Voix du Coeur
•Marie Claire Tchecola (Guinea): She is a nurse, Ebola survivor and an activist
•Sayaka Osakabe (Japan): She is the Founder and Representative of Matahara Net
•Arbana Xharra (Kosovo): She is the Editor-in-Chief of Zeri
•Majd Chourbaji (Syria): She is the External Relations Director of Women Now for Development Centers

The 2015 recipients of the award reflect women’s roles as agents of change and leaders in many of the crisis and challenges that is being faced in the world at present times. They will receive the award in the presence of First Lady of the US Michelle Obama in Washington DC on 10 March 2015.

International Women of Courage Award

Established in 2007, the annual Secretary of State's International Women of Courage Award honours women around the globe who have exemplified exceptional courage and leadership in advocating for human rights, women’s equality, and social progress, often at great personal risk. This is the only Department of State award that pays tribute to emerging women leaders worldwide.

Since the inception of this award in 2007, the Department of State has honoured 86 women from more than 50 different countries including India.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes51 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK