GK Questions and Answers on Five year Plans before and after Liberalisation

The Five Year Plans (FYP) have paved the way for the rapid development of the Indian Economy. There are 12 Five Year Plans that have been made in India and 12th FYP was the last plan of India. This article is based on the GK questions and answers on the Five Year Plans of India.
Updated: Apr 27, 2020 18:51 IST
GK Quiz on five year plans of India
GK Quiz on five year plans of India

Jagran Josh is providing you a set of 10 MCQs on Indian Economy based on Five Year Plans before & after the Liberalisation in India. These questions are made after a deep discussion by our expert team with reference to different competitive exams.

1. Who gives the final approval to the five-year plans of India?

(a) National Development Council (NDC)

(b) Ministry of Finance

(c) Planning Commission (now NITI Aayog)

(d) President of India

Answer: a

Explanation: National Development Council (NDC) was the final authority that used to give final approval to the five years plans. The decades-old Five-Year Plans have been replaced by three-year action plan, which will be part of a seven-year strategy paper and a 15-year vision document.

2.  When was the first five-year plan of India started?

(a) 1949

(b) 1950

(c) 1952

(d) 1951


Explanation: The duration of the first five-year plan was from 1951 to 1956. This plan was successful and achieved growth rate of 3.6% which was more than its target.

3.  The very first five-year plan of India was based on the model of:

(a) Mahalanobis model

(b) Harrod Domar Model

(c) Bombay Plan

(d) None of these


Explanation: The first five year plan was based on the Harrod-Domar model which is bsed on the steady state gorwth rate.

4.  What as the prime target of the first five-year plan of India?

(a) Development of the industries

(b) Development of Agriculture

(c) Development of infrastructure

(d) Development of ports


Explanation:  The main focus of the first five-year plan was the agricultural development of the country. Agriculture is still the backbone of the Indian economy in terms of employment generation.

5. Which programme given the slogan of Garibi Hatao?

(a) 7th five-year plan

(b) 3rd five year plan

(c) 6th five year plan

(d) 5th five-year plan


Explanation: Indira Gandhi’s political opponents campaigned on the slogan “Indira Hatao,“ (Remove Indira). But Indira Gandhi tweaked it and renamed as “Garibi Hatao,“ (Remove Poverty).

Indira Gandhi ji used the slogan of 'Garibi Hatao Desh Bachavo (meaning ’Abolish Poverty rescue the country’) in 1971 election. The duration of the fourth Five Year Plan was from 1969 to 1974. So the correct answer would be fourth Five Year Plan.

6. In which five-year plan India opted for a mixed economy?

(a) First

(b) Second

(c) Third

(d) Fourth


Explanation: A mixed economy means the co-existence of the government and the Private sector in an economy.

7. When was the plan holiday declared?

(a) After the third plan

(b) After the fourth plan

(c) After the fifth plan

(d) After the sixth plan

Answer: a

Explanation:  The main reason behind the plan holiday was the Indo-Pakistan war & failure of the third plan. The duration of this plan was from 1966 to 1969. The duration of the third five-year plan was from 1961 to 1966.

8.  Jawahar Rojgar Yojna was launched in:

(a) 5th five year plan

(b) 6th five year plan

(c) 8th five year plan

(d) 7th five year plan


Explanation: Jawahar Rozgar Yojna was launched on April 1, 1989. It was launched in the Seventh Five Year Plan.

9. Three annual plan were launched between:

(a) 1969 to 1972

(b) 1966 to 1969

(c) 1986 to 1989

(d) 1988 to 1991


Explanation: The duration of the plan holiday was from 1966 to 1969. During this plan, annual plans were made.

10. National Development Council is consists of:

(a) Members of the Planning Commission

(b) Governors of the states

(c) Chief Ministers of the states

(d) a & c


Explanation:  National Development Council (NDC) is composed of the members mentioned below:

(i) Prime Minister of India (Chairman of NDC)

(ii) Chief Ministers of all states

(iii) Administrators of all Union Territories

(iv) All cabinet ministers

(v) Members of the Planning Commission

List of all Five Year Plans of India

600+ Important GK Questions & Answers on Indian Economy 2020

Get the latest General Knowledge and Current Affairs from all over India and world for all competitive exams.
Comment (1)

Post Comment

5 + 0 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.
  • Rajesh Mishra MishraFeb 22, 2022

Related Categories