Jagran Josh Logo

List of Indian Military awards

26-MAY-2014 11:28

    When India became republic, India composed its Gallantry Award for bravery in Combat. Primarily, it was the Param Vir Chakra, followed in by Maha Vir Chakra and Vir Chakra. Indian Peacetime Gallantry Awards were formed on similar lines of British Awards of George Cross. These awards comprised of Ashoka Chakra, Kirti Chakra and Shaurya Chakra. All these awards are given for showing noticeable gallantry/bravery but away from Battlefield.

    Wartime Gallantry Awards Peacetime Gallantry Awards Wartime Distinguished Service medals Peacetime distinguished service medals
    Param Vir Chakra Ashok Chakra Award Sarvottam Yudh Seva Medal Param Vishisht Seva Medal
    Maha Vir Chakra Kirti Chakra Uttam Yudh Seva Medal Ati Vishisht Seva Medal
    Vir Chakra Shaurya Chakra Yudh Seva Medal Vishisht Seva Medal

    source: http://www.bharat-rakshak.com

      Latest Videos

      Register to get FREE updates

        All Fields Mandatory
      • (Ex:9123456789)
      • Please Select Your Interest
      • Please specify

      • By clicking on Submit button, you agree to our terms of use
      • A verifcation code has been sent to
        your mobile number

        Please enter the verification code below

      Newsletter Signup
      Follow us on