1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

21st Screen Awards announced

Jan 17, 2015 12:12 IST

21st Screen Awards were announced on 15 January 2015 at Mumbai. Shahid Kapoor and Priyanka Chopra won the Best Actor Award for Male and Female category respectively.

Shahid won the Best Actor (male) award for Haider and Priyanka won Best Actor (female) award for Mary Kom. Best Film award was given to film Queen, while its Director Vikas Bahl won the Best Director award.

Hema Malini was honoured with Lifetime Achievement Award.

Other awards declared on the occasion includes
Best Actor (male) in the popular choice category - Shah Rukh Khan for Happy New Year
Best Actor (female) in the popular choice category - Deepika Padukone for Happy New Year
Hero of the Year (male) - Shahid Kapoor
Hero of the Year (female) - Alia Bhatt
Best Supporting Actor (female) – Tabu for Haider and Seema Pahwa for Ankhon Dekhi
Best Actor Supporting Role (Male) – Inamul Haq for Filmistaan
Best Actor in a Negative Role award (male) - Tahir Raj Bhasin for role of villain in Mardanni
Best Actor in a Negative Role award (female) - Huma Qureshi for Dedh Ishqiya
Best Jodi award – Shahid with Tabu for Haider
Best Actor in Comic Role (male/female) – Sharib Hashmi for Filmistaan
Entertainer of the Year – Sajid Nadiadwala
Ramnath Goenka Award – Manjunath
Best Ensemble Cast – Ankhon Dekhi
Best Child Actor – Parth Bhalerao for Bhoothnath
Best Playback Singer (male) – Arijit Singh for song Muskurane Ki Wajah of Citylights
Best Playback Singer (female) – Jyoti and Sultana Nooran for song Pattakha Guddi of film Highway
Best Music – Mithoon and Ankit Tiwari for Ek Villain
Best Lyrics – Kausar Munir for song Suno Na Sangemarmar of Youngistan
Most Promising Debut Director – Nitin Kakkar for Filmistaan
Best Promising Newcomer (male) – Tiger Shroff for Heropanti
Best Promising Newcomer (female) – Patralekhaa for Citylights
Best Animation – Char Sahibzade
Best Dialogue – Rajkumar Hirani, Abhijat Joshi for PK
Best Screenplay – Sandeep A Varma for Manjunath
Best Story – Rajat Kapoor for Ankhon Dekhi
Best Editing – Sanjib Datta for Mardaani
Best Production Design – Haider
Best Cinematography – Bobby Singh for Queen
Best Action – Heropanti
Best Film Marketing – 2 States
Best Choreography – Ahmed Khan for Kick’s song Jumme Ki Raat
Best Costume – Manoshi Nath and Rishi Sharma for PK

The awards were also announced for Marathi films and the winners include
Best Actor (male) - Dilip Prabhavkar for Vitti Dandu and Nandu Madhav for Tapal
Best Actor (female) - Usha Naik for Ek Hazarachi Note
Best Marathi Film -Vitti Dandu produced by Leena Devre, Ajay Devgn and Kajol
Best Director - Laxman Utekar for Tapal
Best child actor – Nishant Bhavasar for Vitti Dandu

In 2014, Deepika Padukone for Ram-Leela and Farhan Akhtar for Bhaag Milkha Bhaag won the Best Actress and Best Actor awards at the 20th Screen Awards.

Best Director Award was won by Shoojit Sircar for Madras Cafe while the Best Film Award was won by Bhaag Milkha Bhaag.


Quick Digest

Who: 21st Screen Awards

Where: at Mumbai

What: announced

When: 15 January 2015

Is this article important for exams ? Yes17 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Screen Awards , Shahid Kapoor , Priyanka Chopra , Best Actor , Haider , Mary Kom , Queen , Vikas Bahl

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK