1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

36th annual American Book Awards announced

Jul 23, 2015 09:37 IST

The 36th edition of annual American Book Awards was on 20 July 2015 announced by the Before Columbus Foundation. The foundation named the 2015 American Book Award winners, however they will be formally presented with the award on 25 October 2015 at the SF Jazz Centre, San Francisco.

The 2015 American Book Award Winners are:



Hisham Aidi

Rebel Music: Race, Empire, and the New Muslim Youth Culture (Vintage)

Arlene Biala

Her beckoning hands (Word Poetry)

Arthur Dong

Forbidden City, USA: Chinese American Nightclubs, 1936-1970 (DeepFocus Productions)

Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz

An Indigenous People’s History of the United States (Beacon Press)

Peter J. Harris

The Black Man of Happiness (Black Man of Happiness Project)

Marlon James

A Brief History of Seven Killings (Riverhead Books)

Martin Kilson

Transformation of the African American Intelligentsia, 1880–2012 (Harvard University Press)

Naomi Klein

This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate (Simon & Schuster)

Laila Lalami

The Moor’s Account (Pantheon)

Manuel Luis Martinez

Los Duros (Floricanto Press)

Craig Santos Perez

From unincorporated territory [guma’] (Omnidawn)

Carlos Santana, with Ashley Kahn and Hal Miller

The Universal Tone: Bringing My Story to Light (Little, Brown and Company)

Ira Sukrungruang

Southside Buddhist (University of Tampa Press)

Astra Taylor

The People’s Platform: Taking Back Power and Culture in the Digital Age (Henry Holt)

The Lifetime Achievement award under the American Book Award 2015 went to Anne Waldman.

About American Book Awards
• The American Book Awards were created to provide recognition for outstanding literary achievement from the entire spectrum of America’s diverse literary community.  
• The awards are presented by the Before Columbus Foundation, a non-profit educational and service organisation founded in 1976 by author-playwright Ishmael Reed.
• The purpose of the awards is to recognize literary excellence without limitations or restrictions.  There are no categories, no nominees, and therefore no losers.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Quick Digest

Who: American Book Awards 2015

What: Announced

When: 20 July 2015

Is this article important for exams ? Yes12 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: American Book Awards , 2015 , Before Columbus Foundation , 36th edition

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK