AIADMK’s M Thambidurai elected as Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker

M Thambidurai, leader of AIADMK in Lok Sabha, was unanimously elected as Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker on 13 August 2014.

Created On: Aug 14, 2014 12:40 ISTModified On: Sep 5, 2014 12:43 IST

M Thambidurai, leader of AIADMK in Lok Sabha, was unanimously elected as Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker on 13 August 2014.

With this he became the first person to occupy the post of Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha twice. For the first time he got elected as Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha during 8th Lok Sabha (1985 – 1989).

The name of 67 years old Thambidurai was moved by Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh and seconded by External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj supporting him.

Besides, there are striking similarities between the 8th Lok Sabha and the present Lok Sabha. Other than both having Deputy Speaker as M Thambidurai, Deputy Speakership had gone to the second largest opposition in the house as in the present case.

AIADMK with 37 members is the second largest opposition party in the Lok Sabha after Congress and is the third largest party in the house after BJP and Congress with 279 and 44 members respectively.

About Deputy Speaker in Lok Sabha

Both Presiding Officers—the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker- are elected from among its members by a simple majority of members present and voting in the House. As such, no specific qualifications are prescribed for being elected the Speaker. The Constitution only requires that Speaker should be a member of the House.

In the absence of the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker discharges her functions.

Speaker of the Lok Sabha resign from office by writing under his/her hand to the Deputy Speaker.

The Deputy Speaker presides over the Lok Sabha in case of elections falling later in the life of a Lok Sabha.

About M Thambidurai

  • He is an academician, an activist and an agriculturist.
  • He is a five-term Member of Parliament. He was first elected as a Member of Parliament in the 8th Lok Sabha in 1984 from Dharmapuri constituency in Tamil Nadu.
  • He was subsequently elected to the 9th Lok Sabha, 12th Lok Sabha, 15th Lok Sabha and 16th Lok Sabha.
  • He got elected to the 16th Lok Sabha from Karur constituency in Tamil Nadu.
  • He served as the Cabinet Minister of Law, Justice and Company Affairs and as the Minister of State of Surface Transport (Additional Charge) from March 1998 to April 1999 in the Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) led coalition government under the then Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

2 + 8 =