Arthur Morris inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

Morris is regarded as one of Australia's greatest left-handed batsmen.

Jan 4, 2017 08:40 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Australia's former opening batsman Arthur Morris on 3 January 2017 was inducted into International Cricket Council's (ICC) Hall of Fame.

With this, Morris became the 82nd cricketer to be inducted into ICC Hall of Fame.

The Australian cricketer was given the honour posthumously during the first day of the third Test between Pakistan and Australia in Sydney.

CA eBook

About Arthur Morris

  • Born on 19 January 1922, Arthur Robert Morris played 46 Test matches between 1946 and 1955.
  • He is regarded as one of Australia's greatest left-handed batsmen.
  • He is best known for his pivotal role in Don Bradman's Invincibles side, which made an undefeated tour of England in 1948. Morris was the leading scorer in the Tests on the tour and scored three centuries.
  • In 2000, he was named in the Australian Cricket Board's Team of the Century.
  • In 2001, he was inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame.
  • His career was interrupted by the Second World War, during which he served in the Australian Army.
  • He resumed his career in cricket in 1946.
  • He made his Test debut against England and quickly became a key member of the team.
  • He passed away at the age of 93 on 22 August 2015.

About International Cricket Council's Hall of Fame

  • The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame "recognises the achievements of the legends of the game from cricket's long and illustrious history"
  • It was launched by the ICC on 2 January 2009 as part of the ICC's centenary celebrations.
  • It was launched in association with the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA).
  • Its initial inductees were the 55 players included in the FICA Hall of Fame.  However, further members are added each year during the ICC Awards ceremony.
  • The inaugural inductees included from W. G. Grace, Graham Gooch, and others.
  • There are six women in the Hall of Fame. Former England women's cricket team captain Rachael Heyhoe-Flint is the first woman in the Hall of Fame.

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए