Assam Assembly Election 2016 Results: BJP creates history by winning absolute majority with its allies

May 20, 2016 08:21 IST

assam-map1Election Commission on 19 May 2016 announced results of 2016 Legislative Assembly Election of Assam. The elections were held in two phases on 4 April 2016 and 11 April 2016 for 126 assembly seats.

In the election, BJP and its alliance partners have won an absolute majority in Assam state assembly election. It has won 60 seats on its own in the 126 member House. Its ally AGP has won 14 seats while another ally BPF has bagged 12 seats.

BJP has thus made history by winning an assembly election in the state. Ruling Congress has bagged 26 seats, AIUDF 13 and one seat has gone to an independent.

Results as declared



Bharatiya Janata Party


Indian National Congress


All India United Democratic Front


Asom Gana Parishad


Bodoland Peoples Front






BJP Chief Ministerial candidate Sarbananda Sonowal has won from Majuli seat, defeating his nearest rival by more than 18000 votes. Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi has won in Titabar, with a margin of over 17000 votes.



This thumping win of BJP in north-east India can be seen as its entry in the north-eastern part of India or expanding political influence beyond its traditional heartland. The interesting fact of the results is that the party managed to break into Congress stronghold.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes1 Person Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Assam , Assembly Election Results , Election Commission , Assam Elections ,

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK