Ballon d'or 2019: Lionel Messi wins the title for record sixth time

Ballon d'Or is given by France Football Magazine. Lionel Messi has won this title for record sixth time.

Created On: Dec 3, 2019 15:32 IST
Image: Twitter
Image: Twitter

Ballon d'Or 2019: Argentine footballer Lionel Messi won the prestigious football honor Ballon d'Or for record sixth time. Liverpool defender Virgil Van Dijk finished second and Cristiano Ronaldo of Juventus finished third.

Megan Rapinoe won this award in the women category. Messi, who could not make it to the top three last time, won the award after four years. Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal has won this award five times.

Ballon d'Or 2019
• Lionel Messi won this award after four years. In 2018, the title was won by Real Madrid and Luka Modric of Croatia.
• Messi has scored 46 goals in 53 matches. However, last year, he scored 36 goals in 34 matches and also became champion of his club.
• A total of 30 players were nominated for the Ballon d'Or awards.
• This award is given by France Football Magazine. They choose the winner on the basis of votes of 180 journalists in the world.

Also Read | Jnanpith Award 2019: Malayalam poet Akkitham bags 55th Jnanpith Award

Messi in Champions League
Messi also became the first player to score goals against 34 different teams in the Champions League. He achieved this feat by scoring a goal against Dortmund in a match played last week. Before him, Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo and Spain's Raul scored goals against 33 teams. 

Megan Rapinoe's second Ballon d'Or

American player Rapinoe has become the second female player to win the Ballon d'Or award twice. Norway's Ada Hägerberg has done this before her. America managed to win the Football World Cup for the second time in July this year thanks to Rapinoe. She scored the first goal of the match in the 2–0 win against the Netherlands in the final. She also won Golden Boot and Golden Ball awards for her performance in the tournament.

About Lionel Messi
• Lionel Messi won this award four times in a row from 2009 to 2012, while he was awarded the title for the last time in 2015. 
• In 2019, Messi has won titles such as Golden Shoe, FIFA Best Player of the Year, Best Player Award in La Liga and UEFA Forward of the Year.
• Lionel Andrés Messi (born 24 June 1987) is an Argentinian football player. He is considered one of the best football players of his generation.
• He is compared to the legendary football legend Diego Maradona because of his playing style and ability. 
• Messi plays for Barcelona in the Spanish Football League 'La Liga'.

Also Read | Arcadia Education Project in Bangladesh wins Aga Khan Architecture Award

Also Read | Greta Thunberg wins International Children’s Peace Prize

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

8 + 4 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all