Bangladesh new MPs took oath, new Cabinet will take oath on 12 January

Elected MPs of Bangladesh took the Parliamentary oath. The government will be made by the ruling Awami League.

Jan 10, 2014 15:55 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

The newly elected MPs the Parliament of Bangladesh led by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina took the Parliamentary oath on 9 January 2014. With this oath ceremony, the ruling Awami League formed the government for second consecutive term.

Earlier, Awami League secured an absolute majority in the Parliamentary elections conducted on 5 January 2014. The oath of the 284 MPs was administered by Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury of the 300 MPs. The remaining 16 MPs will be sworn later. The cabinet oath will be held on 12 January 2014.

The Bangladeshi Constitution mentions that Parliamentary members of the country have to take the oath of the office within 3 days after publication of an official gazette that notifies the elected candidates by Election Commission. The gazette notification has been issued on the result of the 10th parliamentary election by Election Commission.

Bangladesh will witness re-polling in eight seats on 16 January 2014.
Opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP), led by two-times former Prime Minister Khaleda Zia boycotted the elections and didn’t contest in the elections which happened on 5 January 2014. At present Khaleda, the former Prime Minister at present is under de facto house arrest.

The Bangladeshi elections of January 2013 have been one of the deadliest violence in the 43- year history of the country as 26 people were killed during the polling. Apart from this, about 180 people have died since October 2013.

If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए