Bet Dwarka Darshan Circuit to be developed under HRIDAY

Feb 25, 2017 10:00 IST

Bet Dwarka Darshan Circuit to be developed under HRIDAYUnion Ministry of Urban Development on 23 February 2017 approved the development of 6-kilometer-long Bet Dwarka Darshan Circuit in Gujarat. The circuit will be developed at an expense of Rs 16.27 crore under the Central Scheme ‘Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY)’.

The Bet Dwarka Darshan Circuit that connects the famous Dwarkadish Haveli and Hanuman Dandi was approved by the HRIDAY National Empowered Committee chaired by Rajiv Gauba, Secretary (UD). Hanuman Dandi is the only temple housing Hanumanji and his son Makardhwaj, in Dwarka district of Gujarat.

Union Government launched National Heritage Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY)

Ranchod Talav and Shankhudhar Lake are the two important water bodies along the circuit.

Darshan Circuit works to be taken up include

• Development of streets and pedestrian pathways

• Laying of cycle tracks along beach side and plantation, LED lighting and plazas for vending spaces

• Other facilities includes the provision of benches, changing rooms, resting spaces, drinking water and toilet facilities

• Craft and food bazaar will be developed

Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY)

Launched on 21 January 2015, the National Heritage Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY) seek to preserve and rejuvenate the rich cultural heritage of the country. It was launched by the Union Minister of Urban Development M Venkaiah Naidu.

Under HRIDAY heritage related infrastructure development is being taken up in 12 identified cities including Dwarka-Bet Dwarka at a total cost of Rs500 crore. So far, projects with an investment of Rs420 crore have been approved for all 12 mission cities.

The twelve cities that will be developed under HRIDAY and allocations are

• Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh)–  Rs 89.31 crore

• Amritsar (Punjab) - Rs 69.31 crore

• Warangal (Telangana) – Rs 40.54 crore

• Ajmer (Rajasthan) – Rs 40.04 crore

• Gaya (Bihar) – Rs 40.04 crore

• Mathura (Uttar Pradesh) – Rs 40.04 crore

• Kanchipuram (Tamil Nadu) – Rs 23.04 crore

• Vellankini (Tamil Nadu) – Rs 22.26 crore

• Amaravati (Andhra Pradesh) – Rs 22.26 crore

• Badami (Karnataka) – Rs 22.26 crore

• Dwaraka (Gujarat) – Rs 22.26 crore

• Puri (Odisha) – Rs 22.54 crore

Is this article important for exams ? Yes7 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK