1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Brazil Won the FIFA Confederations Cup Brazil 2013; Defeated Spain 3-0

Jul 1, 2013 12:52 IST

FIFA Confederations Cup Brazil 2013Brazil won the FIFA Confederations Cup Brazil 2013 on 30 June 2013 against Spain in the final match. Brazil won 3-0 against FIFA World Cup holders Spain. On the Brazilian side, two goals were scored by Fred and one was scored by Neymar.

Brazil grabbed the FIFA Confederations Cup for the third time. Earlier, it had won the Cup in the year 2005 in South Africa, 2009 in Germany and 1997 in Saudi Arabia.

Fernando José Torres of Spain was awarded with the Golden Boot Award, while Fred of Brazil won the Silver Boot Award. The Bronze Boot Award was given away to Neymar.
Italy defeated Uruguay on penalties and secured the third place.

Facts about the FIFA Confederations Cup Brazil 2013

• The 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup was the ninth cup, held at Brazil from 15 June to 30 June 2013.
• It was the prelude to 2014 FIFA World Cup.
• The FIFA Confederations Cup Brazil 2013 was the first national team tournament which made use of the goal-line technology. This technology will also be used in 2014 World Cup.
• The final positions of the 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup were: Brazil (Champions), Spain (Runners-Up), Italy (3rd Position) and Uruguay (4th position).
• The top scorers of the tournament were Fred of Brazil and Fernando José Torres of Spain who scored 5 goals each during the tournament. Neymar of Brazil was declared as the Best Player of the Tournament.
• 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup participating teams were: Brazil, Spain, Italy, Uruguay, Japan, Mexico, Nigeria and Tahiti.
• Prize Money: Brazil won 4.1million US dollar, Spain won 3.6 million US dollar, Italy won 3 million US dollar, Uruguay won 2.5 million US dollar. The teams from Fifth to eighth place won 1.7 million US dollar.

About FIFA Confederations Cup

• The FIFA Confederations Cup is the international association football tournament for national teams.
• It is held after every 4 years by FIFA.
• The teams participating in the tournament belong to each of the six FIFA confederation championships, i.e., UEFA, CONMEBOL, CONCACAF, CAF, AFC, OFC, apart from the FIFA World Cup holder and the host nation.
• Total of eight teams participate in the FIFA Confederations Cup.


Awards given during 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup

Name of the Award

Name of the Country/Player

FIFA Fair Play Trophy


Golden Ball Winner

Neymar (Brazil)

Golden Boot Winner

Fernando Torres (Spain)

Golden Glove Winner

Júlio César (Brazil)

Silver Ball Winner

Andrés Iniesta (Spain)

Silver Boot Winner

Fred (Brazil)

Bronze Ball Winner

Paulinho (Brazil)

Bronze Boot Winner

Neymar (Brazil)

Is this article important for exams ? Yes171 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK