1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Chief Minister of Delhi, Sheila Dikshit resigned

Dec 9, 2013 14:00 IST

Sheila DikshitSheila Dikshit, the Chief Minister of Delhi resigned from her post on 8 December 2013 after Congress party faced a defeat in the Delhi Assembly polls. She sent her resignation to the Lt Governor.

Sheila Dikshit was defeated in her constituency in New Delhi from Arvind Kejriwal of Aam Aadmi Party by over 5000 votes. She has been the Chief Minister of Delhi three times.

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) with 28 seats has emerged as the second largest party in New Delhi in its debut elections after Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).


Result of election of Delhi that have 70 seats


Seats won

Indian National Congress


Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)


Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)


Others (Independent party)


Is this article important for exams ? Yes32 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Sheila Dikshit , Chief Minister of Delhi , Congress , Delhi Assembly polls , AAP , BJP

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK