List of states lockdown in India: 32 states/UTs announce complete lockdown, check full list

Coronavirus Outbreak in India: Thirty two states and Union territories have declared a complete lockdown as the country recorded its ninth death linked to the highly contagious coronavirus.

Created On: Mar 24, 2020 13:02 IST
Coronavirus Cities under lockdown
Coronavirus Cities under lockdown

Coronavirus Lockdown in India: Thirty two states and union territories have now announced a complete lockdown in India, covering a total of 560 districts, to tackle the rapid spread of novel coronavirus. This was announced by the Union Government on March 24, 2020. 

According to the Indian Council of Medical Research, 75 new cases have been reported during the last 24 hours and the death toll has gone up to nine. Some states and UTs including Maharashtra, Punjab and Delhi have imposed a curfew to force people to stay at their homes and not venture out. 

The 32 states/ UTs that have been under full lockdown include Chandigarh, Delhi, Goa, Jammu Kashmir, Nagaland, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Ladakh, Jharkhand, Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Tripura, Telangana, Chhattisgarh, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Meghalaya, Manipur, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Haryana, Daman Diu and Dadar Nagar Haveli, Puchucherry, Andaman and Nicobar, Gujarat, Karnataka and Assam.

Full list of states/ UTs under complete lockdown

The Indian railways also announced the suspension of its service throughout the nation. In a first, Mumbai local also suspended its service to combat and stop novel coronavirus from reaching stage III of local transmission. Many states including Delhi have also imposed Section 144 to stop people from crowding together.

What is Complete Lockdown?

According to media agencies, the lockdown that has been imposed on several cities across India is meant to restrict movement of people and curb the social gathering to enforce social distancing among the citizen. This would in turn break the chain of transmission of Coronavirus. However, during the lockdown period, essential services will be available to the citizens. Simply put, people involved in providing essential services i.e. medical, financial, media, daily necessities will be able to carry on with their professional duties while ensuring social distancing guidelines.

Lockdown across various cities in India has been imposed under the Epidemic Diseases Act, 1897. In case of outbreak of an epidemic, this act empowers the district administration to seal the borders of the district to check the spread of the disease. When a lockdown is announced, the movement of people is restricted and no person from outside is allowed to enter the area which is under lockdown.

What is allowed and banned during a Lockdown?

During a lockdown,

  1. Movement of people is restricted in the areas under lockdown. People who want to move out need to showcase valid id and reason for travel before they move out.
  2. Assembly of people for social functions is banned
  3. Essential services including healthcare, daily necessities (milk, vegetables, pharmacy, grocery stores and hospitals) are allowed to remain open
  4. All other business or commercial establishments are closed
  5. Public and Private transport is banned or regulated with minimum frequency. Restrictions are placed on entry and movement of vehicles

List of states under Complete Lockdown due to Coronavirus

With rising number of cases, state government across the country have announced lockdown in several districts and cities. These include National Capital Delhi, for which Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal announced a complete lock down after a high-level meeting. In addition to this, Rajasthan government has announced complete lockdown across the state while in Gujarat several major cities including Ahmedabad, Surat, Rajkot and Vadodara have been under lockdown. 

The 30 states which have been fully locked down are:

  • Chandigarh, 
  • Delhi, 
  • Goa, 
  • Jammu Kashmir, 
  • Nagaland, 
  • Rajasthan, 
  • Uttarakhand, 
  • West Bengal, 
  • Ladakh, 
  • Jharkhand, 
  • Arunachal Pradesh, 
  • Bihar, 
  • Tripura, 
  • Telangana, 
  • Chhattisgarh, 
  • Punjab, 
  • Himachal Pradesh, 
  • Maharashtra, 
  • Andhra Pradesh, 
  • Meghalaya, 
  • Manipur, 
  • Tamil Nadu, 
  • Kerala, 
  • Haryana, 
  • Daman Diu and Dadar Nagar Haveli, 
  • Puducherry, 
  • Andaman and Nicobar, 
  • Gujarat, 
  • Karnataka, 
  • Assam.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Categories

    Related Stories

    Comment (0)

    Post Comment

    5 + 4 =
    Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

      Monthly Current Affairs PDF

      • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
      • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
      • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
      • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
      • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
      • Current Affairs PDF May 2021
      • Current Affairs PDF April 2021
      • Current Affairs PDF March 2021
      View all

      Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

      • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
      • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
      • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
      • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
      • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
      • Current Affairs Quiz PDF May 2021
      • Current Affairs Quiz PDF April 2021
      • Current Affairs Quiz PDF March 2021
      View all