East Bengal wins Calcutta Football League 2016

Sep 16, 2016 08:16 IST

East Bengal FCIndian football giants East Bengal on 16 September 2016 won the Calcutta Football League (CFL) for the seventh consecutive time.

The team defeated Mohammedan Sporting 1-0 at the Kalyani Stadium.

East Bengal bettered its own record of winning it six times straight from 1970 to 1975.

About East Bengal Football Club

East Bengal Football Club is a professional football club, based in Kolkata, West Bengal.

East Bengal FC was founded in 1920.

It currently competes in the I-League, the top-tier of Indian football pyramid.

The club has won 3 National Football League, 8 Federation Cups, 3 Indian Super Cups and many more.

The club has represented India the most number of times in the Asian competitions, with its best performance being a semi-final berth in the AFC Cup 2013.

East Bengal had also won ASEAN Club Championship in 2003.

September CA eBook

About Calcutta Football League

Calcutta Football League is the football league system where several football clubs of Kolkata participate.

It currently consists of seven-tier pyramid system.

Indian Football Association (IFA) conducts the CFL with 157 mostly Kolkata based clubs and units.

Started in 1898, this league is regarded as one of the oldest football competitions in the world.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes1 Person Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Calcutta Football League , East Bengal , Kolkata , Mohammedan Sporting

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK