Fact Box: Project-75 (India) of Indian Navy

India initiated the "mother of all underwater defence deals" with France, Germany, Russia, Sweden, Spain and Japan to build six advanced stealth submarines.

Created On: Jul 25, 2017 14:00 ISTModified On: Jul 24, 2017 13:50 IST

Indian Navy in July 2017 finally initiated submarine programme called Project-75 (India), the "mother of all underwater defence deals" with France, Germany, Russia, Sweden, Spain and Japan to build six advanced stealth submarines for an estimated Rs 70000 crore in collaboration with Indian Shipyard.

CA eBook

In 2005, India chose Scorpene design of submarines and purchased six submarines for USD 3 billion under Project 75 (P75).

Construction of the first submarine under P75 started in May 2009.

The first Scorpene submarine INS Kalvari under P75 was launched in October 2015.

The hull fabrication of all six submarines of P75 is now complete.

These Project 75 Submarines are INS Kalvari, INS Khanderi, INS Vela, S53, S54 and S55.

Out of these, only INS Kalvari and INS Khanderi have been launched till now and rest 4 will be delivered by 2021.

These submarines are being constructed by Mazagon Dock Limited and designed by French company DCNS in Mumbai.

The Project 75 (I) or Project 75 (India) class submarine is an improved version of the Project 75 submarine of the Indian navy.

The project got approval from the Defence Acquisition Council in October 2014.

Under the Project 75(I), India issued Request-For-Information (RFI) to six overseas manufacturers to build six advanced submarines with Air-Independent Propulsion (AIP).

These six manufacturers are ThyssenKrupp Marine Systems (Germany), DCNS (France), Navantia (Spain), Saab (Sweden), Rubin Design (Russia), Mitsubishi and Kawasaki (Japan).

Project 75(I) RFI requires manufacturers to demonstrate that they can build these six submarines with a partner in India under ‘Make in India’ initiative.

These 6 countries have to respond to RFI by 15 September 2017.

Following the responses, Navy will formulate the NSQRs (Naval Staff Qualitative Requirements) before the formal RFP (Request For Proposal) is issued to the six.

These six diesel-electric submarines will have land-attack cruise missiles, AIP for greater underwater endurance and the capability to integrate weapons and sensors.

As per approved plans, Indian Navy should have 18 diesel-electric submarines,  6 nuclear-powered submarines and 4 nuclear-powered submarines with long-range nuclear-tipped missiles for effective deterrence against China and Pakistan.


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

6 + 1 =