Germany beats Chile to win 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup

Jul 3, 2017 09:17 IST

Germany wins 2017 FIFA Confederations CupGermany on 2 July 2017 defeated Chile 1-0 in the final to clinch the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup.

With the win, Germany took home their first Confederations Cup.

The tournament was held in Russia as a prelude to the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

The defending champions, Brazil, who won the previous three Confederation Cups, failed to qualify for the first time since 1995 following their loss on penalties to Paraguay in the quarter-finals of the 2015 Copa América.

CA eBook

About Confederations Cup

The FIFA Confederations Cup is an international association football tournament for national teams.

It is held every four years by FIFA.

The tournament was originally organized by and held in Saudi Arabia and called the King Fahd Cup, contested in 1992 and 1995 by the Saudi national side and some continental champions. In 1997, FIFA took over the organization of the tournament and named it the FIFA Confederations Cup.

It is contested by the holders of each of the six (UEFA, CONMEBOL, CONCACAF, CAF, AFC, OFC) regional championships, along with the current FIFA World Cup holder and the host nation, to bring the number of teams up to eight.

Since 2005, the tournament has been held in the nation that will host the next World Cup.

The 2021 tournament will be moved from 2022 World Cup host Qatar to another Asian country, due to concerns over the high temperatures that it experiences during June and July.

Quick Digest

Who: Germany

Where: Russia

What: Won 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup

When: 2 July 2017

Is this article important for exams ? Yes7 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: FIFA Confederations Cup , FIFA , Confederations Cup , Football

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK