Great Britain beat India to win Sultan of Johor Cup Hockey tournament

For the third place, the host Malaysia defeated Argentina to settle for Bronze while Australia won the Fair Play Award.

Oct 19, 2015 12:10 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Great Britain on 18 October 2015 defeated Indian junior men's hockey team and captured Sultan of Johor Cup (SOJC).

Great Britain defeated defending champions India by 4-3 in sudden death penalty shootout in the final after the match had ended 2-2 in regulation time.

For the third place, the host Malaysia defeated Argentina to settle for Bronze.

Other Awards

Fair Play Award: Australia (finished fifth in the tournament)

Top Goal Scorer: Luke Taylor of Great Britain (10 goals)

Best Goalkeeper: Chris Wyver of Great Britain

Best Player: Harjeet Singh of India

Participating countries in the 2015 edition of the tournament were: Malaysia, Australia, Great Britain, India, Argentina and Pakistan.

About Sultan of Johor Cup

Sultan of Johor Cup (SOJ Cup) is an annual international under-21 field hockey tournament held in Malaysia. It is the only invitational junior hockey competition played at international level.

The championship started in 2011 and is named after the Sultan of Johor, ceremonial head of the Malaysian state of Johor.

So far, India is the more successful team in the tournament reaching 4 finals out of 5 editions. The 2014 edition of the International U-21 hockey Tournament was won by India.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए