Hindi Scholar and writer Surendra Verma selected for Vyas Samman 2016

Feb 17, 2017 09:15 IST

Surendra Verma, a well known Hindi scholar and writer, was selected for Vyas Samman 2016. He was chosen for the prestigious award for his novel Kaatna Shami Ka Vriksha: Padma Pankhuri Ki Dhar Se.

The book, Kaatna Shami Ka Vriksha, was published in 2010.

Indian tabla player Sandeep Das wins 2017 Grammy Award for Best Global Music

Surendra Verma

• Born on 7 September 1941 in Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh, Verma will be the 26th recipient of the Vyas Samman.

• In 1993, he was conferred with the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award.

• In 1996, he was awarded the Sahitya Akademi Award.

• He has published about fifteen titles of short stories, novels, satires and play.

• Some other novels and plays (drama) penned down by Verma includes Mujhe Chand Chahiyae, Surya Ki Antim Kiran Se Surya Ki Pahli Kiran Tak, Athwan Sarg and Qaid-e-Hayat among others.

• His play Surya Ki Antim Kiran Se Surya Ki Pahli Kiran Tak (From Sunset to Sunrise) has been translated into six Indian languages.

Director Damien Chazelle's musical "La La Land" dominates BAFTA 2017

About Vyas Samman

Vyas Samman was instituted in 1991 by the KK Birla Foundation and carries a cash award of Rs 3.50 lakh, a citation and a logo. It is awarded annually in recognition of the Hindi literary work published in past 10 years in genres like novels, plays, short stories, poetry, critiques and others.

Past winners of the award are

• Vyas Samman  2015 - Sunita Jain for poetry collection “Kshama”

• Vyas Samman 2014 - Kamal Kishore Goyenka for his book Premchand Kee Kahaniyon Kaa Kaal Kramanusar Adhyan

• Vyas Samman 2013 - Vishwanath Tripathi for his memoir Vyomkesh Darvesh

• Vyas Samman 2012 - Narendra Kohli for his novel Na Bhooto Na Bhavishyati

• Vyas Samman 2011 - Ramdarash Misra for his collection of poems Aam K Patte

• Vyas Samman 2010 - Vishwanath Prasad Tiwari for his collection of poems Phir Bhi Kuch Rah Jayega

• Vyas Samman 2009 - Amar Kanth for his book Inhi Hathiyaron Se

• Vyas Samman 2008 - Mannu Bhandari for his autobiography Ek Kahani Yah Bhi

• Vyas Samman 2007 - The Selection Board did not find anyone suitable for the award.

Olympic Champion Bolt wins Laureus 'Sportsman of the Year' award

• Vyas Samman 2006 - Noted poet and literary critic Parmanand Srivastava .

• Vyas Samman 2005 - Katha Satisar by Chandrakanta

• Vyas Samman 2004 - Kath Gulab by Mridula (Jain) Garg

• Vyas Samman 2003 - Anwan by Chitra Mudgal

• Vyas Samman 2002 - Prithvi Ka Krishna Paksh by Kailash vajpayee

• Vyas Samman 2001 - Hindi author Giriraj Kishor, after receiving the Vyas Samman for his book Pehla Girmitiya

• Vyas Samman 2000 - Pehla Girimitya by Giriraj Kishore

• Vyas Samman 1999 - Bisarampur Ka Sant by Lal Sukla

• Vyas Samman 1998 - Paanch Aanganon wala Ghar by Govind Mishra

• Vyas Samman 1997 - Uttar Kabir Tatha Anya Kavitaen (Poems) by Dr. Kedarnath Singh

• Vyas Samman 1996 - Hindi Sahitya aur Samvedna ka Vikas by Prof. Ramswarup Chaturvedi

• Vyas Samman 1995 - Koi Dusra Nahin (Collection of poems) by Kunwar Narayan

• Vyas Samman 1994 - Sapna Abhi Bhi (Collection of poems) by Dr. Dharmvir Bharti

• Vyas Samman 1993 - Main Waqt ke Hoon Samane (Collection of poems) by Girija Kumar Mathur

• Vyas Samman 1992 - Neela Chand (Novel) by Dr. Shiv Prasad Singh

• Vyas Samman 1991 - Bharat ke Pracheen bhasha parivar aur Hindi in 3 volumes by Dr. Ram Vilas Sharma

Is this article important for exams ? Yes7 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK