India beat Pakistan by 9 wickets to win T20 Blind World Cup 2017

The emphatic victory of India in finals over Pakistan is significant as the visiting side was enjoying unbeatable record in the championship in 2017 till their defeat in finals by India.

Feb 13, 2017 08:29 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

India on 12 February 2017 won the ICC T20 Blind World Cup. In the final clash played at Bengaluru’s M Chinnaswamy stadium, India defeated Pakistan by 9-wickets.

Successfully defending their title in the T20 Blind World Cup, India achieved the victory target of 198-runs in the 18th over in the final of the tournament.

Pakistan had scored 197 for 8 in their 20 overs. The team had won the previous edition by defeating the same rivals in the final in 2012.

India made to the finals with eight victories of the nine games. It lost its only match against Pakistan in the group stages at Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi. On the other hand, Pakistan remained unbeaten throughout the tournament.

Important fact: Pakistan also ended as runners-up to India in the 2012 edition of the game. In 2012, which was the inaugural session of the tournament, India defeated Pakistan by 29 runs.

Brief scores:

• Pakistan scored 197 for 8 in 20 overs. The main scorer was Badar Muni (57)

• India scored 200/1 in 17.4 overs. Main scorers were Prakasha Jayaramaiah (99 not out), Ajay Kumar Reddy (43)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has congratulated the Indian blind cricket team for winning the Twenty20 World Cup. Congratulating them Prime Minister Modi tweeted, India is proud of their accomplishment.

On the other hand, Sports Minister Vijay Goel also congratulated the Team for lifting T20 World Cup for Blind Cricketers. In a message to the team, he said, after the success of Para Athletes at Rio Paralympics in 2016, Indian team for Blind Cricket has added another chapter of glory in the history of country's sports.

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए