Indian Railways won 36th National Chess Team Championship

To win their first ever championship, the Indian Railways defeated Life Insurance Corporation team in the final held in Bhubaneswar.

Created On: Feb 17, 2016 12:49 ISTModified On: Feb 17, 2016 12:47 IST

Indian Railways on 14 February 2016 won the 36th National Chess team Championship in Bhubaneswar, Odisha. For the Indian Railways team it was the first ever title.

To win the championship the team defeated Life Insurance Corporation (LIC) team in the final.

Earlier, to reach the final, the Railways team beat its counterparts - Odisha, Gujrat, Air-India, Petroleum Sports Promotion Board, Airport Authority of India, Tamil Nadu and Delhi - in the championship that began on 8 February 2016.

Indian Railway team was represented by the following chess players from different Zonal Railways

1. Karthikayan

2. Deepan Chakkravarthy

3. Rathnakaran

4. Arghyadip Das

5. Swapni Dhopade

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

6 + 3 =