Irish Author Anna Burns wins Man Booker Prize 2018 for her novel 'Milkman'

Oct 18, 2018 10:04 IST
Irish Author Anna Burns wins Man Booker Prize 2018 for her novel 'Milkman'

Irish Author Anna Burns on October 16, 2018 won the Britain's renowned Man Booker Prize 2018 for her third novel 'Milkman'. Burns received the award from Prince Charles' wife Camilla, the Duchess of Cornwall, as well as 50000 pounds (USD 65900) as the prize money.


With this, Burns became the first writer from Northern Ireland to win the Booker Prize. The previous Irish winners were John Banville, Anne Enright and Roddy Doyle. She is also the first woman to win the award since 2013, when Eleanor Catton took the award for ‘The Luminaries’.

The judges of the annual award praised Anna Burns' work as utterly distinctive. Burns was born in the Northern Irish capital Belfast in 1962 and now lives in southern England. She had previously authored two novels - 'No Bones' and 'Little Constructions'.


Milkman is an exploration of Northern Ireland's three decades of violence told through the voice of a young woman.

The novel chronicles the struggles of a middle sister in a family as she confronts rumour, social pressures and politics amid violent sectarian divisions in her community.

It is a story of brutality, sexual encroachment and resistance threaded with mordant humour.

In an interview posted by the Booker Prize foundation, Burns said that “Milkman was inspired by her own experience… I grew up in a place that was rife with violence, distrust and paranoia, and peopled by individuals trying to navigate and survive in that world as best as they could.”


The finalists competing for the 2018 Man Booker Prize were:

  • Esi Edugyan for her novel “Washington Black” which is about a young slave who escapes from a plantation in Barbados by hot-air balloon
  • Daisy Johnson for “Everything Under”, a modern-day retelling of a classical myth that imagines Oedipus as a female lexicographer. It will be published soon in the United States by Graywolf Press in Minneapolis.
  • Rachel Kushner for “The Mars Room”, telling the story of a woman imprisoned for killing an abusive man who was stalking her.
  • Richard Powers for “The Overstory”, a multi-part story about trees and people who dedicate their lives to saving them.
  • Robin Robertson for “The Long Take,” a book that mixes poetry and prose to tell the story of a traumatised World War II veteran who has left his home in Nova Scotia to see America. It will be published in the United States in November by Knopf.

Man Booker Prize

Established in 1969, the Man Booker Prize recognises the judges choice of "the best original novel written in English and published in the UK".

Initially, Man Booker Prize was only open to writers from Britain, Ireland and the Commonwealth nations until it began permitting authors from other English-speaking countries in 2014.

Last year’s Booker Prize went to “Lincoln in the Bardo,” by American writer George Saunders.


Video: Check out the latest current affairs of this week


Is this article important for exams ? Yes4 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK