Justice Dipak Misra sworn in as 45th Chief Justice of India

Aug 28, 2017 09:11 IST

Justice Dipak Misra was on 28 August 2017 sworn in as the 45th Chief Justice of India (CJI). He was administered the oath of office by President Ram Nath Kovind. Justice Misra will retire on 2 October 2018.

Justice Misra succeeds Chief Justice Jagdish Singh Khehar who demitted office on 27 August 2017.

With this, Misra became the third from Odisha to assume charge as the Chief Justice of India (CJI). The other two were Justices Ranganath Misra and G B Pattanaik.

CA eBook

About Justice Dipak Misra
• Born on 3 October 1953, Justice Misra enrolled as an advocate in 1977 and practiced in Constitutional, Civil, Criminal, Revenue, Service and Sales Tax matters in the Orissa High Court.
• He was appointed as an Additional Judge of the Orissa High Court on 17 January 1996.
• Later on 3 March 1997, he was transferred to the Madhya Pradesh High Court.
• After becoming a permanent Judge in December 1997, Justice Misra assumed charge as the Chief Justice of Patna High Court on 23 December 2009.
• He then took charge of the office of the Chief Justice of Delhi High Court on 24 May 2010.
• Justice Misra was elevated to the Supreme Court on 10 October 2011.

Justice Dipak Misra appointed as 45th Chief Justice of India

Is this article important for exams ? Yes8 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Justice Dipak Misra , 45th Chief Justice of India , CJI

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK