K Sivan appointed as Director of Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC), ISRO

Before the present appointment, he was the Distinguished Scientist and Director of Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC), Thiruvananthapuram.

Jun 2, 2015 13:00 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

K Sivan was on 1 June 2015 appointed as the Director of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC), an organisation that works under Indian Space Research Organisation in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala.

He took the charge on the day of his appointment and succeded M Chandradathan, who superannuated in May 2015. Before this appointment, he was the Distinguished Scientist and Director at Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC), Thiruvananthapuram.

Sivan joined ISRO in 1982 for Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) Project and has made rich contributions towards end to end mission planning, mission design, mission integration and analysis which have become the foundation for ISRO launch vehicles like Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV), GSLV Mk-III, as well as Reusable Launch Vehicle-Technology Demonstrator(RLV-TD).

He is the chief architect of 6D trajectory simulation software SITARA which is the backbone of the real time and non real time trajectory simulations of all ISRO launch vehicles. He developed and implemented an innovative way of launching wind biasing strategy which has made possible rocket launch on any day of the year under any weather and wind conditions.

He joined GSLV Project in April 2011 as Project Director. Under his leadership, GSLV with indigenous Cryogenic Upper Stage, achieved historical success on 5 January 2014. During his career at ISRO, he held many responsible positions like Project Director, RLV-TD, Deputy Director, VSSC, Project Director, GSLV and Director, LPSC.

He has numerous publications to his credit and is a Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering, Aeronautical Society of India and Systems Society of India.

For his contributions to the Indian space sector, he has received many awards, which include Dr Biren Roy space science award for the year 2011, ISRO merit award for the year 2007 and Shri Hari Om Ashram Prerit Dr. Vikram Sarabhai Research award for the year 1999.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1 Current Affairs App

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप