Karnataka defeated Maharashtra to win the Ranji Trophy 2014

Karnataka defeated Maharashtra by seven wickets to win Ranji Trophy 2014 at Hyderabad.

Created On: Feb 3, 2014 12:55 ISTModified On: Feb 3, 2014 12:57 IST

Karnataka on 2 February 2014 defeated Maharashtra by seven wickets to win the Ranji Trophy 2014 at Hyderabad. Karnataka, while chasing a target of 157 runs on the last and fifth day of the tournament was successful to clinch winning by losing only three wickets in the second innings.

Karnataka bowlers R Vinay Kumar and Shreyash Gopal claimed four wickets each. The remaining two wickets of Maharashtra team were taken by Abhimanyu Mithun.

Man of the match: Lokesh Rahul of Karnataka, who scored highest 131 in the first innings and 29 in the second.

Brief Score:
• Karnataka: 515 and 157 for three
• Maharashtra: 305 and 366 all out

Captains of the two teams
• Karnataka: R Vinay
• Maharashtra: Rohit Motwani

Karnataka's moment of glory arrived after 14 years of wait. This is the seventh title win for Karnataka; the first trophy was won in 1988-99 season. Captain of Karnataka, R Vinay became the sixth captain of the state to win the title. The previous captains of the state who have won the title are
• EAS Prasanna (twice)
• Brijesh Patel
• Anil Kumble
• Rahul Dravid
• Sunil Joshi


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

3 + 6 =