1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

MS Dhir elected as Speaker of Delhi Assembly

Jan 4, 2014 16:48 IST

MS Dhir an MLA of Aam Aadmi Party has been elected as the Speaker of the Delhi Assembly on 3 January 2014. His election as the speaker was announced by the Pro-tem Speaker, Mateen Ahmad in the House. He was elected as the Speaker of the House after his party won the trust vote on 2 January 2014.

Dhir defeated his BJP rival Jagdish Mukhi. He got 37 votes in support as compared to 32 votes won by Mukhi. The session of Delhi Assembly that bagan functioning on 1 January 2014 will end on 7 January 2014.

Dhir is a legislator from Jangpura constituency of Delhi. He defeated Tarvinder Singh Marwah of Congress by 1744 votes in the state election held in December 2014. He was by backed Congress MLAs, a JD(U) MLA and an Independent to become a speaker.


If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group

Is this article important for exams ? Yes30 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK