Nabam Tuki sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh

Nabam Tuki sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh in Itanagar and his oath to the office was administered by Nirbhay Sharma.

Created On: May 19, 2014 12:34 ISTModified On: May 19, 2014 15:01 IST

Nabam TukiNabam Tuki on 18 May 2014 was sworn-in as the eighth (seventh as person) Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh at the Raj Bhavan in Itanagar. This is second consecutive term for the veteran congress leader. His oath to the office and secrecy was administered by the Governor Lt. Gen. (Retd) Nirbhay Sharma.

He was sworn in as the seventh Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh on 1 November 2011 as a successor of Jarbom Gamlin. He was selected as the Chief Minister due to internal revolt within Congress Party. In the internal revolt 42 Congress legislators in the 60-member house had opposed Gamlin due to his authoritarian rule. Gamlin was made Chief Minister of the State after the death of former Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu on 30 April 2011 in a helicopter crash.

About Nabam Tuki
• He got elected from the Sagalee constituency in Papum Pare district of Arunachal Pradesh
• He served as the deputy agriculture minister in the Gegong ministry after being elected to the second legislative assembly in 1995
• In 1988, he served the state as the Transport and Civil Aviation Minister
• In 1996 he served the state as the Irrigation and Flood Control (IFCD) Minister
• In the Mukut Mithi Ministry, he was re-elected to the assembly in 1999 and became a cabinet minister with the Environment and Forest portfolio
• Under the Gegong Apang and Dorjee Khandu ministries in 2004 and 2009, he served as the PWD and Urban Development Minister
• He belongs to the Nyishi community

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

6 + 5 =