1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Nelson Piquet Jr won the inaugural FIA Formula E Championship title

Jun 29, 2015 14:00 IST

Brazilian racer Nelson Piquet Jr on 28 June 2015 won the FIA Formula E Championship title of the 2014-15 season. He won the title after finishing seventh in the final race held at Battersea Park in London, the UK.

Piquet drove for Chinese team Nextev.

It is the first such championship held by FIA, the global governing body for auto racing events.

The first race was held in the Chinese capital Beijing in September 2014 and the championship included 11 races held in 10 different host cities.

About Formula E Championship

• It is the highest class of competition for one-make, single-seater, electrically powered racing cars and was conceived in 2012.
• It was created in order to attract a new audience to the sport and help develop electric technology for the automotive industry.
• Racing circuits are held in cities, and are approximately 2 to 3.4 km long.
• Cars accelerate from 0–100 km/h in 3 seconds, with a maximum speed of 225 km/h.
• Noise decibel levels are approximately 80 dB compared to that of ordinary car that makes70 dB and old Formula1 car on track with 130 dB noise.
• The generators used to re-charge the batteries are powered by Glycerine, a by-product of bio-diesel production.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1 Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes4 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK