Nepal-India Treaty of Transit amended to facilitate import of vehicles into Nepal

Jun 23, 2015 12:17 IST

Nepal-India Treaty of Transit of 1999 was amended on 22 June 2015 to allow the movement of vehicles imported from a third country into Nepal through four border points.

The four border points are Raxaul-Birgunj, Jogbani-Biratnagar, Sunauli-Bhairahawa and Nepalgunj Road-Nepalgunj border points.

The amendment was done after Nepal requested India to allow movement of vehicles on their own citing the requirements of additional handling facilities, special carriers and equipment needed, which added to the cost and time of clearance of vehicles from Kolkata port into Nepal.

To this effect, a Letter of Exchange was finalised between India and Nepal though the two governments had discussed the matter during the third meet of Nepal-India Joint Commission held on 25 July and 26 July 2014.

Earlier, there was no provision under Nepal-India Treaty of Transit that allowed import of third country motor vehicles transiting India to be moved on their own power. Before this agreement such vehicles were allowed only by railway wagons and trucks or trailers after proper sealing by Indian Customs.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes5 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK