Nitish Kumar resigns as Bihar Chief Minister

After submitting his resignation to Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi, Nitish Kumar told reporters outside Raj Bhawan that it has become difficult to run the Grand Alliance government in Bihar in the prevailing circumstances.

Created On: Jul 27, 2017 08:53 ISTModified On: Jul 27, 2017 10:53 IST

Nitish Kumar, the Chief Minister of Bihar, has resigned from his office. He resigned on 26 July 2017 after citing differences with ally RJD on the issue of corruption charges against Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav.

Nitish Kumar Resigns=

After submitting his resignation to Governor Keshri Nath Tripathi, Nitish said under the circumstances prevailing in Bihar, it became difficult to run the grand alliance government.

Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar Chief Minister

He said, I tried to work it out and didn’t ask for anybody’s resignation but asked Tejashwi Yadav to explain the charges of corruption.

Post resignation, Nitish who broke out from the grand alliance has staked his claim to form a new government with the support of BJP and allies. He will be sworn-in as the Chief Minister on 27 July 2017. Reports suggest that Nitish Kumar was elected leader of the NDA during a meeting of NDA and JD(U) MLAs at his residence in Patna.

In addition, BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi will take oath as Deputy Chief Minister.

Sushil Kumar Modi has said that a list of 132 MLAs supporting Nitish Kumar was submitted to the governor who has invited Nitish Kumar to form a new government. These include 71 MLAs from JD(U), 53 from BJP, 2 each from RLSP and LJP, one from HAM and three independents.

Governor has given Nitish Kumar two days to prove majority on the floor of the assembly.

Meanwhile, RJD leader Tejashvi Yadav who met Governor on 27 July 2017 to register protest over Nitish being invited to form government ahead of RJD, which is the single largest party in the state Assembly. He appealed Governor to cancel the oath taking ceremony of Nitish Kumar and invite his party to form a new government.

However, the governor said that it is not possible to take back the invitation letter from Nitish. Tejashvi Yadav said that he will challenge the governor's decision in court.

Grand Alliance won the 2015 Assembly Elections of Bihar with two-thirds majority

RJD has 81 MLAs and even if Congress with 27 MLAs and 3 CPI-ML legislators decide to back Tejashvi their number will add up to 110 only, which is way behind the magic figure of 122


Total Assembly seats in Bihar: 243.

Seats available with parties: RJD: 80, JD(U): 71, Cong.: 27, BJP: 53 LJSP: 2, RLSP: 2, HAM (S): 1; CPI(ML-L) 3, Independents 4.

Numbers required for forming the government: 122.

Nitish Kumar sworn-in as Bihar Chief Minister

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

6 + 7 =