Odisha Government extended Aahar cheap meal scheme to 29 districts

Feb 3, 2016 17:06 IST

The Government of Odisha on 2 February 2016 decided to extend the Aahar scheme to 29 districts in the State. A decision in this regard was taken at a review meeting on the programme at the State secretariat in Bhubaneswar.

As per the decision, 58 centres will be established in 29 districts across the State to provide subsidized food to urban poor under the scheme. The centres will be opened from March 2016.

Features of Aahar Scheme

• It was launched by the State Government on 1 April 2015 to mark the State’s Foundation Day, Utkala Diwas.
• As part of the first phase of the scheme, Aahar outlets were opened in five cities, namely, Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Berhampur, Sambalpur and Rourkela.
• The outlets served meal comprising of Rice, Dalma and Pickle at a subsidised rate of 5 rupees with financial assistance from three State run corporations and Tata Steel.
• Each Aahar outlet will cater to one thousand people daily between 11 am and 3 pm.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes8 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Aahar scheme , Odisha , cheap meal scheme , subsidized food

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK