PM Modi second most followed politician globally; India re-elected as Arctic Council’s Observer – Current Affairs

Prime Minister Modi is the second most followed politician in the world on social media with a total audience of 110.9 million on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. The world’s most followed politician is the former US President Barack Obama with a total following of 182.7 million.

Created On: May 8, 2019 13:36 ISTModified On: May 9, 2019 15:18 IST
PM Narendra Modi

Story 1: PM Narendra Modi surpasses Trump, becomes second most followed politician globally

As per the report released by digital marketing platform SEMrush on May 7, 2019, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is the second most followed politician in the world on social media with a total audience of 110.9 million on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

The world’s most followed politician is the former US President Barack Obama with a total following of 182.7 million.

Highlights of the Report

With over 110 million followers worldwide, PM Modi surpassed US President Donald Trump who has 96 million followers globally.

Nonetheless, Trump enjoys the second most followed politician position globally on Twitter with 59.8 million followers.

Modi had around 47 million followers on Twitter, over 43 million followers on Facebook and over 20 million followers on Instagram, as per the report. However, these numbers do not represent unique users.

Indian National Congress’ President Rahul Gandhi gathered 12 million followers on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Of all these three platforms, most of the active political audiences resort to Twitter.

PM Narendra Modi: Powerful; Influential, Most Followed

In April 2017, Time Magazine featured Prime Minister Narendra Modi in the annual list of 100 most influential people of 2017.

In May 2018, PM Modi was ranked among the 10 most powerful people in the world in the Forbes World's Most Powerful People list 2018, topped by Chinese President Xi Jinping.

In July 2018, global communications agency Burson Cohn & Wolfe (BCW) released a report ranking Prime Minister Modi as the third most followed world leader on Twitter after US President Donald Trump and Pope Francis, the head of the Catholic Church.

PM Modi bestowed with 'Order of St Andrew the Apostle' by Russia


Prime Minister Narendra Modi was on April 12, 2019 bestowed with the Order of St Andrew the Apostle, the highest order of Russia. PM Modi was chosen for the honour for promoting partnership and friendly relationships between India and Russia.


On the similar lines, PM Modi has been honoured with various international honours such as UAE’s Zayed Medal, Philip Kotler Presidential Award, Seoul Peace Prize 2018, UN Champions of the Earth Award 2018, Grand Collar of the State of Palestine, Amir Abdulla Khan Award of Afghanistan, and King Abdullaziz Sash Award of Saudi Arabia.

Story 2: India re-elected as Observer to ‘Arctic Council’

India was on May 7, 2019 re-elected as Observer to the Arctic Council, an intergovernmental forum. The decision was taken during the 11th Arctic Council ministerial meeting at Rovaniemi, Finland.

The Council also appointed the International Maritime Organisation (IMO) as a new Observer.

India’s Observer status

India successfully got the Observer status in 2013 during the Kiruna Ministerial meeting held in Sweden.

India has its Arctic research station ‘Himadri’ in Svalbard, Norway since 2008. Located at the International Arctic Research base, the research station was set up by India's National Centre for Polar and Ocean Research, an institute under the Ministry of Earth Sciences.

The station works on the mass balance of glaciers, studies the effect of the global warming on the water bodies, and observes the formation of clouds and precipitation.

Arctic Council

What is the Arctic Council?

The Arctic Council is the leading intergovernmental forum that “promotes cooperation and interaction among the Arctic States, Arctic indigenous communities and inhabitants of Arctic region on issues pertaining to sustainable development and environmental protection”.


Who are the Members of Arctic Council?

The Members of the Arctic Council are - the United States, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, and Sweden.

Permanent Participants

The Arctic Council has 6 Permanent Participants, representing Arctic indigenous peoples. These are:

Aleut International Association

Arctic Athabaskan Council

Gwich’in Council International

Inuit Circumpolar Council

Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North

Saami Council

Indian researchers have been studying whether there is a co-relation between Indian monsoon and the Arctic region.


Observer Status

The Arctic Council also consists of Observers. This position is open to all non-Arctic states, inter-governmental organisations, non-governmental organisations, global and regional organisations. The Observers engage at the level of Working Groups in the Council.


Non-Arctic Observers

So far, 13 Non-arctic States have been accredited as Observers to the Council. These are:





United Kingdom


The Netherlands








Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

4 + 1 =