President Pranab Mukherjee conferred Padma awards 2016 on 56 awardees

Mar 28, 2016 12:07 IST

President Pranab Mukherjee on 28 March 2016 conferred Padma Awards 2016 on 56 eminent personalities at the Civil Investiture Ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.

The President presented five Padma Vibhushan, eight Padma Bhushan and 43 Padma Shri awards at the function.

The Union Government announced Padma awards 2016 for 112 eminent persons on 26 January 2016.  Out of them 56 received the awards while the rest including superstar Rajinikanth, actor Priyanka Chopra and tennis star Sania Mirza, will be given the honour at a separate function to be held in April 2016.

List of recipients:

Padma Vibhushan

• Founder of Reliance Industries late Dhirubhai Hirachand Ambani (posthumous)

• Former Governor of Jammu and Kashmir Jagmohan

• Art of Living founder Sri Sri Ravi Shankar

• Indian-American economist Avinash Kamalakar Dixit

• Renowned dancer Yamini Krishnamurti

Padma Bhushan

• Actor Anupam Pushkarnath Kher

• Badminton star Saina Nehwal

• Former CAG Vinod Rai

• Pallonji Shapoorji Mistry

• Hafeez Sorab Contractor

• Barjinder Singh Hamdard

• Alla Venkata Rama Rao

• Duvvur Nageshwar Reddy

Padma Shri

Some the prominent personalities among the 43 awardees include:

• Actor Ajay Devgn

• Filmmaker Madhur R Bhandarkar

• Scientist Dr Mylswamy Annadurai

• Athlete Deepika Kumari

• Celebrated chef Mohammed Imtiaz Qureshi

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1 Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes34 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK