1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Prime Minister presented National Bravery Awards 2014 to 24 awardees

Jan 24, 2015 16:15 IST

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 24 January 2015 presented National Bravery Awards 2014 to 24 awardees.

8 girls and 16 boys were conferred with National Bravery Awards. Four of them have been awarded posthumously. The awardees receive a medal, certificate and cash incentive. Also, they will participate in the Republic Day parade.

In addition, Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW) provides financial assistance under its Indira Gandhi Scholarship Scheme to those undertaking professional courses such as engineering and medicine. For the others, this assistance is provided till they complete their graduation. The Government of India has reserved some seats for the awardees in medical and engineering colleges and polytechnics.

The selection was made by a high powered committee comprising representatives of various Ministries/Departments, non-governmental organisations as well as Office Bearers of ICCW.

The lists of awardees are

Sanjay Chopra Award

•Devesh Kumar                         

Bapu Gaidhani Award
•Rumoh Meto                         
•Riya Chaudhary                      

Geeta Chopra Award
•Gunjan Sharma                          

Bharat Award
•Resham Fatma                         

General National Bravery Award
•Aqil Mohammad N K            
•Anjith. P             
•Gaurav Kumar Bharti         
•Hiral Jitubhai Halpati         
•Midhun P P             
•Ripa Das         
•Zeal Jitendra Marathe         
•Rajdeep Das             
•Stevenson Lawriniang          
•Ashwini Bandu Ughade             
•Gaurav Kumar Bharti             
•L. Brainson Singh               
•G. Tooldev Sharma               
•Mhonbeni Equng                  
•Mesak K. Remnalalnghaka         
•Sahanesh R                   
•Balram Dansena                 

About the National Bravery Awards

The National Bravery Award was initiated by the ICCW to give due recognition to the children who distinguish themselves by performing outstanding deeds of bravery and meritorious service and to inspire other children to emulate their examples.

It was in 1957 that two children – a boy and a girl – were first rewarded for their presence of mind and courage. Since then ICCW decided to confer national awards on children every year.

In 1987-88 ICCW instituted the Bharat Award for an exceptionally outstanding, meritorious and gallant deed. The other special awards include the Geeta Chopra and Sanjay Chopra awards (instituted by ICCW in 1978) and the BapuGaidhani Awards (instituted in 1988-89).

Since the inception of the scheme in 1957, the ICCW has given awards to 895 brave children - 634 boys and 261 girls.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes55 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Prime Minister , National Bravery Awards 2014 ,

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK