Sanjay Kumar appointed as DG of National Disaster Response Force

Jul 6, 2017 13:12 IST

Himachal Pradesh DGP Sanjay Kumar was on 5 July 2017 appointed as the Director General (DG) of the National Disaster Response Force (NDRF).

The post of Director General (DG) of NDRF fell vacant after incumbent R K Pachnanda was appointed as the DGP of the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP), the Sino-Indian border guarding force.

Kumar, who is presently serving as the Director General of Police in Himachal Pradesh, is set to retire in December 2018. Kumar is a 1985-batch Indian Police Service (IPS) officer.

He has earlier served in central deputation with the CISF, the vigilance wing of the Railway Ministry and the Railway Protection Force.

CA eBook

About National Disaster Response Force
The National Disaster Response Force (NDRF), established in 2006, has 12 battalions with a strength of over 13000 personnel.

It is mandated to undertake special disaster response and combat roles independently.

It also assists local authorities in launching a quick rescue and response operation to save life and property.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes2 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Sanjay Kumar , National Disaster Response Force , R K Pachnanda

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK