Star India replaced Sahara India as the new Official Sponsor of Indian Cricket

Star India to be the new Official Sponsor of Indian cricket team.

Created On: Dec 10, 2013 14:14 ISTModified On: Dec 21, 2013 15:32 IST

Star India replaced Sahara India as the new Official Sponsor of Indian cricket team. This was declared by the Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) at a meeting held in Chennai on 9 December 2013.

Star India Private Limited was awarded with the Team Sponsorship Rights that will cover BCCI Events, ICC Events and ACC Events. The sponsorship rights will be for a period of three years starting from 1 January 2014 to 31 March 2017.

According to the Board’s Marketing Committee, "Rights include the right to be called the `Official Team Sponsor` and to display a commercial logo on the team clothing of the Senior Men`s Cricket Team, the U-19 Men`s Cricket Team, the Men`s A-Team and the Women`s Team."

Although the BCCI has slashed the base price to Rs 1.5 crore from Rs 2.5 crore three years ago, the Star India will have to shell out Rs. 1.92 crore per match organized by the Board. The total amount bid by Star India stood at Rs. 203 crore.

Star India is the Title Sponsor for BCCI international and domestic matches for the period October 2013 to 31 March 2014, as well as the Holder of the Broadcast, Internet and Mobile Rights of cricket in India, for the period July 2012-March 2018.

Subroto Roy led Sahara India had been Indian cricket team’s Official Sponsor for the last 12 years. The company had outbid Airtel in 2010 to extend its sponsorship of the Indian team.

Sahara secured the rights by paying Rs 3.34 crore to Airtel`s Rs 2.89 crore per international game. But their relations with the BCCI turned sour and in October 2013. The Board terminated Sahara-sponsored Indian Premier League team Pune Warriors over franchise fees. Sahara, in turn, decided to sever all links with BCCI.

As a result, this time despite Sahara’s higher bid of Rs 2.35 crore per match, Sahara India’s bid was rejected by the BCCI.

About BCCI

  • The BCCI was established in 1928 in Mumbai.
  • The first President of the BCCI was Govan and De Mello was the first Secretary.
  • The current President is N. Srinivasan and Sanjay Patel is the Secretary.
  • In 1929, India was admitted as a Full Member of International Cricket Council (ICC).

If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs  


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

4 + 3 =