Tamil Nadu Assembly Election 2016 Results: Jayalalithaa back to power for second consecutive time

With the win, Jayalalithaa also made history as she became the second chief minister after 1989 to be elected for a second consecutive term.

Created On: May 20, 2016 11:00 ISTModified On: May 20, 2016 11:20 IST

Election Commission on 19 May 2016 announced results of 2016 Legislative Assembly Election in the state of Tamil Nadu.

In the election, All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) chief and Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa emerged triumphant and swept the polls.

After the 1984 Assembly Election, Jayalalithaa became the second chief minister of the state who was able to retain the power. The first was Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam’s M.G. Ramachandran who was elected to power in 1980 and then again in 1984.

Results as declared



All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam


Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK)


Indian National Congress


Indian Union Muslim League




Tamil Nadu


The thumping win of AIADMK’s Jayalalithaa in the state of Tamil Nadu can be attributed to the following reasons:

The introduction of various social welfare schemes under the Amma brand like Amma canteens, Amma water and more largely helped the party to win over the trust of masses.

Jayalalithaa also made sure that freebies such as fans, laptops and mixers were given to all Below Poverty Line families in the rural settlements of the state.

AIADMK, which has a majority of the BPL voters, lured the masses by speaking about the welfare schemes during the campaign trail.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

4 + 3 =