1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng won the Walter Scott Prize 2013

Jun 17, 2013 15:31 IST

The Garden of EveningNovel: The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng

The Garden of Evening Mists by the Malaysian author Tan Twan Eng won the Walter Scott Prize 2013. This was Tan Twan Eng’s second novel.

About The Garden of Evening Mists

The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng is a novel about traumatic aftermath of the Japanese occupation of Malaya. It also covers the post-war insurgency against British rule. The novel covers themes such as love and atonement, disturbing co-existence of cultural refinement, barbarism and personal and national honour.

This novel had also won the 2012 Man Asian Literary Prize on 14 March 2013.

About Tan Twan Eng

• Tan Twan Eng is fiction author born in Penang in 1972.
• His first novel was The Gift of Rain which was published in 2007. It was long-listed for Man Booker Prize 2007. The Gift of Rain is translated into various languages such as French, Greek, Romanian, Italian, Czech and Serbian.
• His second novel was The Garden of Evening Mists which was published in 2012. This novel was not just shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2012, but also won Man Asian Literary Prize 2012 and Walter Scott Prize.

About the Walter Scott Prize

• The Walter Scott Prize for the historical fiction was founded in the year 2010.
• It is a British literary award.
• With the prize money of 25000 pounds, Walter Scott Prize is one among the largest literary awards in the UK.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes52 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK