Union Cabinet approves merger of 17 Government Presses into 5 units

Sep 21, 2017 11:47 IST

The Union Cabinet chaired by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 20 September 2017 approved  merger and modernization of 17 Government of India Presses (GIPs) and into 5 units.

These modernised 5 Government press units will be located at Rashtrapati Bhavan, Minto Road and Mayapuri in Delhi; Nashik, Maharashtra and at Temple Street of Kolkata, West Bengal.

CA eBook

Highlights of the merger of Government Presses
• These 5 Presses will be redeveloped and modernised by monetisation of their surplus land.
• Land measuring 468.08 acres of the other merged Presses will be given to Land & Development Office, Ministry of Urban Development.
• On the other hand, land measuring 56.67 acres of the Government of India Text Books Presses (GITBPs) at Chandigarh, Bhubaneswar and Mysuru will be returned to the respective State Governments.
• Modernisation of the Presses will enable the presses to undertake important confidential, urgent and multi-colour printing work of the Central Government Offices all over the country.
• This will be carried out at zero cost to the exchequer and without any retrenchment.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes3 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK