Uttarakhand’s Health Minister SS Negi conferred with World No Tobacco Day Award 2015

He was one of the six awardees from the WHO South-East Asia Region.

Created On: Jun 1, 2015 12:00 ISTModified On: Jun 1, 2015 17:52 IST

Uttarakhand’s Medical, Health and Family Welfare Minister Surendra Singh Negi on 31 May 2015 was conferred with the World No Tobacco Day Award 2015 by the World Health Organsiation (WHO).

He was one of the six awardees from the WHO South-East Asia Region.

In addition, the WHO Director-General Special awards were presented to
• Marcelo Fisch, Head of the Fiscal Special Control Division, Federal Revenue Secretariat, Ministry of Finance, Brazil
• Kenya Revenue Authority

WHO Director-General's Special Recognition Certificates were presented to
• Luk Joossens of Belgium, one of the rapporteurs of the WHO expert group on illicit tobacco trade
• Saira Afzal Tarar, Minister of State for National Health Services, Regulations and Coordination of Pakistan.

Every year, the WHO recognizes individuals or organizations in each of the six WHO Regions for their accomplishments in the area of tobacco control.

This recognition takes the form of WHO Director-General Special Recognition Awards and World No Tobacco Day Awards. The prestigious awards are presented to mark the occasion of the World No Tobacco Day (WNTD).

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1 Current Affairs App

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

3 + 3 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all