Windham-Campbell prizes for the year 2016 announced

The writers — who hail from the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, India, and Ireland — were chosen in three categories: fiction, non-fiction, and drama.

Created On: Mar 2, 2016 10:10 ISTModified On: Mar 2, 2016 12:44 IST

Columnist and author Jerry Pinto on 1 March 2016 was chosen for the 2016 Windham-Campbell Prize. Pinto, an Indian, won the award for his novel Em and The Big Hoom (published in 2012) in the fiction category.

Em and the Big Hoom was Pinto’s first work of fiction that tells the story of an unnamed narrator’s slow, painful attempt to come to terms with his mother’s bipolar disorder and suicidal tendencies.

2016 Windham-Campbell Prize

The book narrates an acute exploration of the impact of mental illness on intimate relationships, as well as a window into the fraught lives of the Goan Christians of Mumbai.

Apart from Pinto, eight other writers were chosen for the award in three categories, namely fiction, non-fiction and drama. The winners will each receive 150000 dollar to support their work. List of 2016 Windham-Campbell Prize winners


• Tessa Hadley (United Kingdom)

• CE Morgan (United States)

• Jerry Pinto (India)


• Hilton Als (United States)

• Stanley Crouch (United States)

• Helen Garner (Australia)


• Branden Jacobs-Jenkins (United States)

• Hannah Moscovitch (Canada)

• Abbie Spallen (Ireland)

Jerry Pinto

He is an editor, journalist, novelist, poet, and translator and his works explores the pains of familial and political life. He has written several books, including

• Asylum and Other Poems (poetry collection)

• Surviving Women

• Helen: The Life and Times of an H-Bomb, an award-winning biography of Bollywood actress Helen Richardson Khan

• Reflected in water: writings on Goa

Windham-Campbell prizes

The Donald Windham Sandy M. Campbell Literature Prizes is an American literary award which offers prizes in three categories: fiction, non-fiction and drama. The award was established at Yale University in 2011 with the first prizes presented in 2013.

The awards is administered by the Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library and recognizes English language writers from anywhere in the world.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

0 + 3 =