1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. General Knowledge Lists  |  

22 cities with multiple test cricket venues

Nov 10, 2017 12:52 IST

    Cricket is one of the most popular sports around the world, but its most popularity is in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, England, Australia and South Africa. Cricket is an outdoor game that is played in beautiful stadiums. There are 114 such stadiums in the world till 10th November, 2017 where test matches have been organized. But many of these stadiums are located in the one city. There are 22 such cities in the world, where more than one stadium has situated, which hosted international test matches. In this article, we are giving the list of 22 such cities in the world where there are two or more cricket stadiums situated which hosted Test matches.

    22 Cities with multiple test venues

    1. Colombo (Sri Lanka)

    cricket stadium colombo
    P Sara Oval, Colombo Cricket Club, R Premadasa Stadium and Sinhalese Sports Club Ground (Clockwise)
    Number of Stadiums - 4
    (i) P. Sara Oval
    (ii) Colombo Cricket Ground
    (iii) R. Premadasa Stadium
    (iv) Sinhalese Sports Club Ground

    2. Mumbai (India)

    cricket stadium mumbai
    Gymkhana Cricket Ground, Brabourne stadium and Wankhede stadium (Clockwise)
    Number of Stadiums - 3
    (i) Gymkhana Ground
    (ii) Brabourne Stadium
    (iii) Wankhede stadium
    Note: Gymkhana Ground is India's first cricket stadium, where first international match was played. It is currently famous as Azad Maidan.
    List of Top 10 biggest cricket stadiums of the world

    3. Johannesburg (South Africa)

    The Wanderers Johannesburg

    The wanderers
    Image source: Cricket Dawn

    Number of Stadiums - 3
    (i) Old Wanderers stadium
    (ii) Ellis Park stadium
    (iii) The Wanderers Stadium
    Note: The Old Wanderers stadium was destroyed in 1945-46 by Railways.

    4. Nagpur (India)

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground
    (ii) Jamtha Ground

    5. London (England)

    lords cricket ground
    The Lords
    Image source: Mirror

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) Kennington Oval
    (ii) Lord's

    6. Durban (South Africa)

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) Lord's
    (ii) Kingsmead
    Note: Lord's Ground was destroyed in 1921.

    7. Lucknow (India)

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) University Ground
    (ii) K.D. Singh Babu Stadium
    Note: Only one test match has been played on both stadiums located in Lucknow.

    8. Lahore (Pakistan)

    gaddafi stadium
    Gaddafi Stadium
    Image source: India Today

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) Bagh-e-Jinnah
    (ii) Gaddafi Stadium

    9. Hyderabad (India)

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium
    (ii) Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Uppal

    10. Chittagong (Bangladesh)

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) Mohammad Aziz Stadium
    (ii) Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium
    Do you know the members of first Indian cricket team

    11. Christchurch (New Zealand)

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) AMI stadium
    (ii) Hagley Oval

    12. Karachi (Pakistan)

    karachi national stadium
    Karachi national stadium
    Image source: Pakistan Cricket

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) National Stadium
    (ii) Southend Club Cricket Stadium

    13. Chandigarh (India)

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) Sector 16 Stadium
    (ii) Punjab Cricket Association, I.S. Bindra Cricket Stadium, Mohali

    14. Dunedin (New Zealand)

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) Carisbrook Stadium
    (ii) University Oval Stadium

    15. Multan (Pakistan)

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) Ibn-e-Qasim Bagh stadium
    (ii) Multan Cricket Stadium

    16. Bulawayo (Zimbabwe)

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) Queens Sports Club
    (ii) Bulawayo Athletic Club

    17. Chennai (India)

    chepauk stadium
    M A Chidambaram Stadium
    Image source: Zee News

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) MA Chidambaram Stadium
    (ii) Nehru Stadium

    18. Brisbane (Australia)

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) Brisbane Cricket Ground
    (ii) Exhibition Ground

    19. Dhaka (Bangladesh)

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) Bangabandhu National Stadium
    (ii) Sher-e-Bangla National stadium

    20. Peshawar (Pakistan)

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) Peshawar Club Ground
    (ii) Arbab Niaz Stadium

    21. Rawalpindi (Pakistan)

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) Pindi Club Ground
    (ii) Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium

    22. Kandy (Sri Lanka)

    pallekele stadium
    Pallekele stadium
    Image source: Cricbuzz.com

    Number of Stadiums - 2
    (i) Asgiriya Stadium
    (ii) Pallekele International Cricket Stadium

    List of Cricketers who have scored 10,000 runs in ODI

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below