1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. GK for Exams  |  

List of Hydro Power Plants in India

27-JUL-2017 18:14

    Energy is an essential input for economic development and improving the quality of life. India is the seventh largest producer of hydroelectricity in the World. Power development in India commenced at the end of the 19th century with the commissioning of electricity supply in Darjeeling during 1897, followed by the commissioning of a hydropower station at Sivasamundram in Karnataka during 1902. Here, we are giving a list of Hydro Power Plants in India that will help in the enhancement of general knowledge of the readers.

    Power projects in India

    List of Hydro Power Plants in India

    1. Tehri Dam

    Operator: THDC Limited, Uttarakhand     

    Location: Uttarakhand

    2. Koyna Hydroelectric Project

    Operator: MAHAGENCO, Maharashtra State Power Generation Co Ltd.

    Location: Maharashtra

    3. Srisailam

    Operator: APGENCO     

    Location: Andhra Pradesh

    4. Nathpa Jhakri

    Operator: Satluj Jal Vidyut Nigam   

    Location: Himachal Pradesh

    5. Sardar Sarovar Dam

    Operator: Sardar Sarovar Narmada Nigam Ltd   

    Location: Navagam, Gujarat

    India's Cement Industry, Cement Producing States and Plants

    6. Bhakra Nangal Dam (Gobind Sagar)

    Operator: Bhakra Beas Management Board        

    Location: Sutlej River, Bilaspur - Himachal Pradesh

    7. Chamera I  

    Operator: NHPC Limited        

    Location: Himachal Pradesh

    8. Sharavathi Project

    Operator: Karnataka Power Corporation Limited

    Location: Karnataka

    9. Indira Sagar Dam

    Operator: Narmada Valley Development Authority       

    Location: Madhya Pradesh

    List of the Railway Production Units in India

    10. Karcham Wangtoo Hydroelectric Plant

    Operator: Jaypee Group         

    Location: Himachal Pradesh

    11. Dehar (Pandoh) Power Project

    Operator: Bhakra Beas Management Board        

    Location: Himachal Pradesh

    12. Nagarjuna Sagar Dam Guntur

    Operator: Andhra Pradesh Power Generation Corporation Limited 

    Location: Andhra Pradesh

    List of Major Coal Fields in India

    13. Purulia Pass

    Operator: West Bengal Electricity Distribution Company       

    Location: West Bengal

    14. Idukki

    Operator: Kerala State Electricity Board    

    Location: Kerala

    15. Salal I & II  

    Operator: NHPC Limited        

    Location: Jammu & Kashmir

    List of Important National Highways of India

    16. Upper Indravati

    Operator: Odisha Hydro Power Corporation       

    Location: Orissa

    17. Ranjit Sagar Dam

    Operator: Punjab State Power Corporation Limited      

    Location: Punjab

    18. Omkareshwar

    Operator: Narmada Hydroelectric Development Corporation  

    Location: Madhya Pradesh

    19. Belimela Dam

    Operator: Odisha Hydro Power Corporation       

    Location: Orissa

    20. Teesta Dam

    Operator: NHPC Limited        

    Location: Sikkim

    In the above list of Hydro Power Plants in India will concretise the general knowledge of the readers.

    Indian Geography: A Complete Study Material

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK