List of Indian Cricketers inducted in the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame,ICC Hall of Fame

The International Cricket Council releases list of legendary players inducted in the ICC hall of fame every year.The Hall of Fame list was launched by the International Cricket Council (ICC) in Dubai on 2 January 2009, in association with the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA). Till date there are 6 Indians have been inducted in this prestigious list. Sachin Tendulkar is the latest inductee Indian in this list.
Created On: Jul 1, 2019 10:57 IST
Modified On: Jul 19, 2019 11:42 IST
ICC Hall of Fame
ICC Hall of Fame

In 2019 there are 3 more cricketers have been inducted in the ICC hall of fame. These are; Sachin Tendulkar, South African great Allan Donald and Australian Cathryn Fitzpatrick.

The ICC Cricket "Hall of Fame" recognises the achievements of the legends of the cricket.

The initial inductee of this list were Steve Waugh, Wasim Akram, Clarrie Grimmett, Herbert Sutcliffe and Victor Trumper.

The existing members of the Hall of Fame assist in the selection of future inductees. 

Since 1932 till date just 6 Indians have been included in this list. Sachin Tendulkar, the former master blaster is the latest Indian player who is included in the list of ICC hall of fame in 2019.

sachin hall of fame

In 2010, Rachael Hey hoe Flint, former England women's cricket team captain became the first woman to be inducted in the Hall of Fame list.

Eligibility for Hall of fame list;

A player is eligible to be inducted in the fame list only after the mandatory period of 5 years since his /her  retirement from International cricket.

icc hall fame 2018

Cricket is considered the game of men; perhaps this is the reason that out of 90 players only 8 women have been included in the list so far.

The list of Indian players who are inducted in the ICC fame of list is as follows;



Induction year

 1. Bishan Singh Bedi



 2. Kapil Dev



 3. Sunil Gavaskar



 4. Anil Kumble



 5. Rahul Dravid



6. Sachin Tendulkar



Since 2 January 2009, there are 90 players have been included in the ICC hall of fame list. The most numbers of players 28 are from England followed by the Australia (26) and West Indies (18).

icc hall of fame list

Some intresting facts about ICC Hall of fame are as follows;

1. There are eight women in the Hall of Fame.

2. Initial there were 55 inductees in the FICA Hall of Fame which ran from 1999 to 2003 but further members are added each year during the ICC Awards ceremony.

3. Rachael Heyhoe Flint, former England women's cricket team captain became the first woman to be included in the Hall of Fame in 2010.

4. There is no Indian women cricketer included in this list.

5. Australian Rodney Marsh was the first member of the initial inductees who receive commemorative cap of hall of fame.

6. Bishan Singh Bedi was the first Indian player in the ICC hall of fame list. 

How Bowling Speed is calculated in Cricket Matches

When a chess player is called Grand Master?

Get the latest General Knowledge and Current Affairs from all over India and world for all competitive exams.
Comment (1)

Post Comment

6 + 1 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.
  • Bikram mandalNov 11, 2021
    Bikram mandal Viva Government administration industry I

Related Categories